Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2008, 05:54 PM
Moz Moz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 71
Default 7.3 versus 7.1 on G4?

Cheers!
Coul'd anyone tell if v7.3 of ProTools LE works better than 7.1 on G4 (Powerbook)?
Thanks.

-Powerbook G4 1.67GHz, 2GB RAM, (OS 10.4.8).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2008, 06:09 PM
MrBibidy MrBibidy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney, AU
Posts: 218
Default Re: 7.3 versus 7.1 on G4?

I skipped 7.3 and went to 7.4 but from what I have heard from all the guys at the studio I work at it gives you a bit more power back. 7.1 was pretty rough.
__________________
James Hurley,
Int'l Freelance Producer & Mix Engineer

http://www.Abravemix.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2008, 05:41 AM
Moz Moz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 71
Default Re: 7.3 versus 7.1 on G4?

Thanks MrBibidy.

Did you (anyone, please) think 7.4 it's to much heavy for G4 1.67GHz? 7.3 it's better choice?

-Powerbook G4 1.67Ghz/2GB RAM/OS 10.4.8/Digi002R
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-2008, 08:03 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: 7.3 versus 7.1 on G4?

FWIW our expirence on the PC side of things would tend to indicate that 7.4 saps about 10-15% of the systems resources over 7.3. This may not however directly apply to Mac.

A 1.67 PowerBook is no longer considered that speedy and I would look very carefully before putting 7.4 on it.

My expirance with my MacBook Pro was that a session running 2 instances of Eleven would run comfortably under 7.3 but I could only run 1 instance under 7.4, It would almost run under 7.4 but not quite. This was as I recall with Elastic Audio turned off.

The amount of RAM you have would likely be crucial also.

Has Digi qualified 7.4 on a 1.67? I haven't checked the compatibility Docs. It seems to me that it could possibly be pretty borderline from a performance point of view.

7.4 brings a lot of good things to the table but it comes at a bit of a cost has been my expirance.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2008, 08:45 AM
Brad Gillie Brad Gillie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 78
Default Re: 7.3 versus 7.1 on G4?

I upgraded from 7.1 to 7.4, and I'm very happy with the performance of 7.4. I have not had any CPU Usage Errors since upgrading. I typically use 12 tracks with about 5 to 8 plugs per session. You can see my specs in my signature.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
96 i/o versus the 192 i/o? Loudnoize Ent. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 11-14-2006 02:05 PM
96 versus 88.2 khz Sambuca Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 05-14-2005 09:31 PM
Mac G4 versus G5 versus Windows XP progress88 General Discussion 22 09-08-2003 08:45 AM
M-149 versus? DougP General Discussion 15 10-03-2000 05:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com