Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-19-2011, 07:07 PM
B-Rob B-Rob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 8
Default PT Unable to Locate Mbox 2 Mini

On my Macbook Pro, Pro Tools 8 is "unable to locate" my Mbox 2 Mini. Digi Core Audio Manager says "Unsupported Device". The green LED does illuminate and Pro Tools 8 used to recognize it but now it does not.

Everything was working until I upgraded to Pro Tools 8.0.4 . I tried upgrading my OS from 10.5.8 to 10.5.8 (combo pack) to compensate. Tried PT uninstall and restart. Now Mbox Mini 2 has a demo mode that outputs beeps and white noise. Still no recognition from Digi software.

Will my Mbox 2 Mini ever work again?

Computer Specs:
Macbook Pro
OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
2 GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2011, 07:10 PM
B-Rob B-Rob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 8
Default Re: PT Unable to Locate Mbox 2 Mini

Using Pro Tools LE by the way.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2011, 09:59 PM
B-Rob B-Rob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 8
Default Katy Perry AVID

On my Macbook Pro, Pro Tools 8 LE is "unable to locate" my Mbox 2 Mini. Digi Core Audio Manager says "Unsupported Device". The green LED does illuminate and Pro Tools 8 used to recognize it but now it does not.

Everything was working until I upgraded to Pro Tools 8.0.4 . I tried upgrading my OS from 10.5.8 to 10.5.8 (combo pack) to compensate. Tried PT uninstall and restart. Now Mbox Mini 2 has a demo mode that outputs beeps and white noise. Still no recognition from Digi software.

Will my Mbox 2 Mini ever work again?

Computer Specs:
Macbook Pro
OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
2 GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2011, 10:04 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,800
Default Re: Katy Perry AVID

How does this relate to Katy Perry? Are you plugged directly into the computer or is it going through a hub? Plug it into the USB port closest to your power supply.
__________________
-Ryan Young

•2019 Mac Pro 3.5 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon W - 48 GB 2666 MHz DDR4 (OS 10.15.5) •HD Native PCIe, HD Omni, 192 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •Avid S3 + Dock •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •5.1 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

Additional Systems

•2010 Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native PCIe, 192 I/o, 96 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x4), McControl (x1), JLCooper Surround panner for D-Command ES, Avid Control •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •7.1.4 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

•2017 MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 - 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native TB, HD Omni, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x1), McControl (x1), Avid Control * or * D-Command ES Main Unit •Fed into whichever system is the main system
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2011, 10:25 PM
B-Rob B-Rob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 8
Default Re: Katy Perry AVID

I'm not using hub. Tried both USB ports.. no dice. What now?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-23-2011, 10:33 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Katy Perry AVID

Quote:
Originally Posted by B-Rob View Post
I'm not using hub. Tried both USB ports.. no dice. What now?
So wait... you uninstalled PT... did you reinstall it?
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2011, 10:52 PM
B-Rob B-Rob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 8
Default Re: Katy Perry AVID

Yeah that's how I got the "unable to locate" error message.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-23-2011, 11:39 PM
Sparky1 Sparky1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 726
Default Re: Katy Perry AVID

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Young View Post
How does this relate to Katy Perry?
I'm certain his problem is directly related to Katy Perry - might be too much - might be too little - tough to tell without more specs...

Sparky
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-24-2011, 01:03 AM
B-Rob B-Rob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 8
Default Re: Katy Perry AVID

I'm lazy so here's the paste from "About this Mac".

Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,5
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.26 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 3 MB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
Boot ROM Version: MBP55.00AC.B03
SMC Version (system): 1.47f2
Serial Number (system): W89328XQ66D
Hardware UUID: 519C5F2E-83C5-5D8F-8B18-B86ED371124E
Sudden Motion Sensor:
State: Enabled

8.0.4 didn't work and 8 didn't work on the uninstall/restart. Should I try 8.0.3? 8.0.2?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-24-2011, 05:09 PM
B-Rob B-Rob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 8
Default Justin Bieber + AVID

Pro Tools 8 LE is "unable to locate" my Mbox 2 Mini. Digi Core Audio Manager says "Unsupported Device". The green LED does illuminate and Pro Tools 8 used to recognize it but now it does not.

Everything was working until I upgraded to Pro Tools 8.0.4 . I tried upgrading my OS from 10.5.8 to 10.5.8 (combo pack) to compensate. Tried PT uninstall and restart. Now Mbox Mini 2 has a demo mode that outputs beeps and white noise. Still no recognition from Digi software.

Will my Mbox 2 Mini ever work again?


Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,5
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.26 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 3 MB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
Boot ROM Version: MBP55.00AC.B03
SMC Version (system): 1.47f2
Serial Number (system): W89328XQ66D
Hardware UUID: 519C5F2E-83C5-5D8F-8B18-B86ED371124E
Sudden Motion Sensor:
State: Enabled
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Express - Windows 8 - Unable to locate Hardware - Mbox Mini protoolsexpress Windows 1 02-15-2014 01:56 AM
MBox Mini UNABLE TO LOCATE HARDWARE Pro Tools Express electropunkboy macOS 4 11-18-2013 10:06 PM
PT10/Mbox Mini "Unable to locate hardware..." portrhombus Windows 3 12-21-2012 08:47 AM
Pro Tools Express unable to locate Mbox Mini at startup Dalyduo Pro Tools Express on Mac OS X 4 07-25-2012 09:23 AM
Unable to locate hardware. Mbox mini. Sears Pro Tools 10 10 03-12-2012 01:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com