Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2005, 10:52 AM
dmfisher1 dmfisher1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 16
Default I DON\'T want to calibrate my room

I DON'T want to calibrate my room, but I do have a question about the actual level of the final film mix (NOT the listening level/spl). Should it be mostly around -24dB to -18dB? Where should the peaks be, at -10dB?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2005, 11:16 AM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,148
Default Re: I DON\'T want to calibrate my room

DmFisher,
If you don't you must have a very good reason that I can't seem to think of.
There is NO standard to where it should sit. Only after your room is calibrated do you Mix and listen and then it's Very obvious where your levels should be. Is this a Feature Film or direct to DVD? It does make a difference. Are you talking Dialog average or mix average with peaks?
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2005, 11:21 AM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,269
Default Re: I DON\'T want to calibrate my room

The whole point of people stating to calibrate your room, is that film mixers mix by ear!!
If the room is calibrated, there is almost no need to look at the meters, as the levels will all fall into place.
Its not where youre dialog ends up on a meter, but how it translates to the ears in a 85dB calibrated position.

Marti (Dr Sound), and Peter (PiratePost) have showed me my errors recently, as Ive been mixing by meter keeping my dialog around -20 but the relative loudness wasnt there, I remixed a show which now sounds louder (clearer), and my dialog now sits at -22.

Its ALL relative, Im sorry to be redundant, but I saw the light, or maybe I heard it.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to calibrate 96 i/o EarHole Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-06-2009 09:26 PM
Calibrate 002 monitor outs to console ctrl room...? beesee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-08-2008 06:26 AM
How do you calibrate your front end w/ your 001? jeronimo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-31-2005 04:31 PM
calibrate i/o DeadboysThing 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-24-2003 07:41 PM
Anyone out there using 31 band EQ's and Pink noise to calibrate monitors to the room? ckerian General Discussion 6 01-14-2002 08:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com