Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2017, 05:41 PM
Madman96 Madman96 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Campbellsburg, Ky
Posts: 4
Default Check your disk allocations and drive permissions.

New here please help. I just downloaded Pro tools First. I have used pro tools before in college but it was already set up on the computers. I have it downloaded and every time i try to record i get the message " can not record filer for one or more tracks, check your disk allocation and drive permissions". I've looked everywhere online and it all says the same thing, "go to set up and click disk allocations" WELL ITS NOT THERE!!! there is no Disk Allocations under set up or anywhere else i can find. Please help. Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2017, 05:51 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,826
Default Re: Check your disk allocations and drive permissions.

Click on your har drive icon and make sure i,t is read and write enabled.

Also make sure you are using an Admin account on the PC.

If it still hassle you then make a new admin and see if that helps.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2017, 06:25 PM
Madman96 Madman96 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Campbellsburg, Ky
Posts: 4
Default Re: Check your disk allocations and drive permissions.

what hard drive icon are you refering to. i cannot find enwhere where i can enable read/write. thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-24-2017, 06:29 PM
Madman96 Madman96 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Campbellsburg, Ky
Posts: 4
Default Re: Check your disk allocations and drive permissions.

i was just trying to mess around with it and get used to the program, do i have to use an external hard drive?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-24-2017, 06:36 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,826
Default Re: Check your disk allocations and drive permissions.

All your questions are depending on what computer/interface and setup you have so please post all the details for us to be able to help you better.

If you have a PC, what interface do you have?
Mac? Same question.
OS version of win or osx
Computer specs
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-24-2017, 06:43 PM
Madman96 Madman96 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Campbellsburg, Ky
Posts: 4
Default Re: Check your disk allocations and drive permissions.

I use an Acer aspire V5 laptop running windows 7 and I have a Focurite Scarlet solo Gen 2 interface. The interface is working great as far as connecting it to the computer and I can set it to different tracks and everything runs like I believe it shouldexcept for when I press record I get that message. I am using an admin account as well.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-24-2017, 08:04 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,826
Default Re: Check your disk allocations and drive permissions.

Well your internal hard drive has to have an icon somehwere so if you look for it and right click on it you should be able to set read/write permissions from there.

Have you tried trashing preferences and databases and restarted the computer so everything old gets loaded up fresh?
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-04-2018, 04:08 PM
theresonlyoneking theresonlyoneking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: canada
Posts: 5
Default Re: Check your disk allocations and drive permissions.

Hey Chris, also having this exact same problem. I have an external drive and everything on the interface is working fine, I'm also on an admin account.

I've been trying for hours and I'm losing my mind. I just want pro tools to work.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-04-2018, 04:37 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 498
Default Re: Check your disk allocations and drive permissions.

Okay does pro tools load/open? Have we created a new Project ? Have we chosen a Playback engine from the drop down menu? Is our playback engine de-selected as the default in the Sound control panel(Pro tools needs total control)? Have we tried using ASIO Windows as the playback engine? More info would be helpful.
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 18.7 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-09-2018, 02:23 PM
theresonlyoneking theresonlyoneking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: canada
Posts: 5
Default Re: Check your disk allocations and drive permissions.

Pro tools does open, I have started a new project. Whenever I go to select playback engine from the top menu it crashes my pro tools. I have reinstalled multiple times and it has continued to fail. It also says that the EUCON thing fails to work everytime I open pro tools.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple disk utility repair disk permissions vga Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 05-11-2010 12:10 PM
Leopard's slooowwww Fix Disk Permissions MrKnewitAll Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-11-2008 02:58 PM
Repairing Disk Permissions Ron Fairchild Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 06-04-2007 06:49 PM
Repair Permissions: Disk or DVD? dubaifox 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-21-2005 08:58 PM
Disk Allocation Problem -- PT Session can have two disk allocations?? tommydee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-26-2003 08:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com