Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-13-2018, 07:59 PM
sownnd sownnd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Default MPD218 MIDI Controller Not Interfacing With Plug-Ins

Hi,

I recently purchased the Akai MPD218. Upon setup, I am not able to activate any of the sounds within my plugins. For reference, this is a MIDI device that connects via USB directly to the computer.

I have another controller, which is a keyboard w/MIDI out into my interface (PreSonus AudioBox 1818VSL). This device triggers my virtual instruments within the plugins just fine.

However, for ease for drum recordings, I would like to use the MPD218.

I am confused because ProTools recognizes the MPD218:

https://imgur.com/a/NDx9H

Nonetheless, I have tried manually creating a MIDI device in the MIDI Studio, but to no avail. In addition, ProTools doesn't seem to recognize the device at all when I attempt to add the device via Setup -> Peripherals -> MIDI Controllers -> then inputting the proper details.

I feel I must be doing something terribly wrong or missing some vital step. Any help would be appreciated.

My specs:
Computer Model: PC - Personal Build, Intel i7
Pro Tools Version: 11.3.1
OS: Windows 10
Audio Interface: PreSonus AudioBox 1818 VSL
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2018, 12:18 PM
sownnd sownnd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Default Re: MPD218 MIDI Controller Not Interfacing With Plug-Ins

Resolved: Updating this post in case anyone with the same issue finds it.

It was as simple as enabling machine slave in peripherals. Setup > Peripherals > Machine Control > MIDI Machine Control Remote (Slave) > Enable > 127 Here is the article specific to my product:

http://www.akaipro.com/support/kb/ar...n-pro-tools-11


Adding an edit to say what a dolt I was not being able to figure that out.

Last edited by sownnd; 01-28-2018 at 12:19 PM. Reason: I'm dumb.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT8 MIDI interfacing bontay Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-21-2009 11:53 PM
midi interfacing... kkfaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-25-2008 08:31 AM
Midi Interfacing experiences? Roman Gonzales 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-27-2005 08:17 AM
Trouble w/ Midi controller and B4 Plug-In! hardcase 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-06-2005 09:01 AM
MIDI Interfacing Brimmy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-19-2002 12:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com