Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-19-2009, 12:04 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: How About Solid State?

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Toolbox View Post
Believe me, I'm a cutting edge technology freak....

But I don't think SSD's aren't worth it... yet. Why? Figure you'll get at least 2 years out of a conventional hard drive. Right now it's bigger and faster than any SSD on the market. 2 years from now the SSD's will be bigger, faster, and much cheaper.
Some of us bleeding edge types have been running Pro Tools all in RAM and just use the HD/SSD as a mirror for any write requests. This pretty much eliminates Disk I/O altogether. The results are pretty stellar by the way.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-19-2009, 01:49 PM
RobPG RobPG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 10
Default Re: How About Solid State?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
Some of us bleeding edge types have been running Pro Tools all in RAM and just use the HD/SSD as a mirror for any write requests. This pretty much eliminates Disk I/O altogether. The results are pretty stellar by the way.

Shane
Sounds fascinating, care to elaborate/post links to how tos?
'
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-20-2009, 04:55 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: How About Solid State?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobPG View Post
Sounds fascinating, care to elaborate/post links to how tos?
'
All the discussion and experimentation on this topic is now buried in multiple threads that I cant even find myself. I tried many RAMDisk utilities and SuperVolume ended up being the one that gave us some amazing results. RTAS VI's running all in RAM was pretty jaw dropping by the way. I think I posted screen shots and video screencasts demonstrating plug-in instantiation speeds etc. I even ran a whole sesion all in RAM. Video playback was like butter and jaw dropping. I plan on revisiting this in the W7 64 era.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-21-2009, 07:08 AM
martineargent martineargent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: How About Solid State?

HI buddy
I do not think they will support .Because the use of flash driver is just new one and as you said only two companies Sony and dell started So if we think globally Then they will not support..
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-25-2009, 09:29 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: How About Solid State?

Anyone try running there VI libraries off of a SSD?
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-25-2009, 10:41 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: How About Solid State?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
Anyone try running there VI libraries off of a SSD?

Not yet, Given how fast the read times are it would probably be a great place for them

Sheldon Radford who is the the Venue support guy gave a explanation in the Venue section on why they hadn't switched to SSD's yet. And if you think about it the VENUE is the perfect place for a SSD since the rate of mechanical failure of an SSD should be much less than a HDD. Load in/Load out the constant transit during a tour could all take their toll on a mechanical HDD.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-30-2009, 06:49 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: How About Solid State?

I'm sure looking forward to booting up W7 64 in 11 seconds from SSD though.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-30-2009, 09:18 PM
solidwalnut's Avatar
solidwalnut solidwalnut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 347
Default Re: How About Solid State?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
I'm sure looking forward to booting up W7 64 in 11 seconds from SSD though.

Shane
Yah, no doubt. Since I work for one half of WinTel, I've been able to view some vid's on SSD development. It's amazing stuff. Boot up times in seconds, laptops dropped from 5 feet with no hassles. I even saw one where they hung an SSD drive behind the afterburners of a land rocket and let the jet stream blow it away as it taxied. The guy went and found it a few hundred feet away, stuck it in a laptop and booted up the thing. Pretty cool.
__________________
Worship Leader * Producer * Guitar Man
Intel i7 3930k CPU, Gigabyte GA-X79-UD3 MB, G.Skill 16GB (DDR3 1600) RAM, WD Caviar Black 750GB HD x4
Neve 5043 Comp * Manley Dual Mic Pre * Apogee Rosetta 200
Eleven Rack (live rig and studio rig!!)
Win7 * 003R * PT 11
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-07-2009, 02:12 AM
M-ManLA's Avatar
M-ManLA M-ManLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: How About Solid State?

I am planning to get a SSD for my boot drive. I am curently looking at the OCZ Agility 120GB. It has the new Indilinx Barefoot controller and 64MB Cache. It has some rave reviews.
__________________
www.M-ManLA.com
www.facebook.com/MManLA
www.soundcloud.com/m-manla


Pro Tools 12, Sibelius First 7/Presonus Studio 192/Windows 10 Pro

Last edited by M-ManLA; 10-16-2009 at 02:06 AM. Reason: Spelling
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-07-2009, 05:25 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,033
Default Re: How About Solid State?

Let us know how it works:)
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
protools and solid state HD 2crows Pro Tools 10 25 10-22-2012 08:59 AM
G5 and Solid State Drives Dutchmama Studio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 09-25-2010 02:51 AM
Solid State Drives Andy R Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 33 09-01-2010 07:19 AM
Has anyone tried the Solid State HDs? Julia B Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 6 04-28-2010 07:28 PM
Solid State Logic (SSL) Daniel_Isaiah Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 01-31-2003 11:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com