Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-31-2001, 11:53 PM

Default Orchestral mixing

hi,
I am a film composer. I have scored 20+ movies, mostly orchestral. I'd been composing, arranging and mixing them on the synths and a 32tk mixer and just outputing directly to a DAT. I can score a movie in a week, but I don't know anything about mixing.
Recently, I just switched to multi trk recording(PT/Digi001) and now realize what I've been missing. It made a huge different to the surround mix just by seperating the music into strings, brass, winds and percussion. And I can use different size reverb on different tracks now.
Want to share what you know about mixing for orchestra or mixing for Dolby Surround?
Old 08-01-2001, 01:28 AM

Default Re: Orchestral mixing

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR> I can score a movie in a week, but I don't know anything about mixing(...)Want to share what you know about mixing for orchestra or mixing for Dolby Surround? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Mixing music or sound is indeed a craft.
That's what a sound engineer does.
That's what most of us on this forum do.
That's what I do as a living.
And you're telling us, being a movie composer, you'd have the opportunity to work with a sound engineer but you don't. Instead of giving work to someone qualified, you'd rather do this by yourself, though you "don't know anything about mixing". And you want us to help you with some tips about mixing...
I think you're kind of pushing it there !!...