Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-01-2011, 10:37 AM

Default PT 8 on W7 glitches!

Just did the 8.0.4cs update and all my glithes still remain. The problems I have are not even addressed in the update.
I have been using PT for 7 years. Started with 5.4 on WXP computer. In the almost 7 years I ran PT on my WXP from 5.4-7. I did not have as many glitchs and over all problems that I have had in the past 7 months since coverting to PT8. (notice I said converting no upgrade as far as I am concerned)
To convert to PT8 I had to by a new computer running W7. So I got a new one with 8 gigs of ram and a I5 processor.
From day one nothing but problems. I have yet to do an install of PT8 an not have any errors.
The glitches I have range from 50% of the time when opening a seesion I get a meesage (some file are out of bounds and need to be adjusted)
When I hit the enter key to bring the curser to beginning of a session record mode does not work. I then click in a few bars in the session and the record will work.
When recording an intrument track (xpand) after recording when I duplicate, copy, edit anything to the files I wrote the files change change randomly. If I drag the file from the regions list it is not the same as what was recorded.

After highlighting a section to edit when I am done I hit the enter key to go to the start of the track and the section remains highlighted.

The only problems I ever had with PT5.4 through PT7 is finding everyhting in the menus because of changes.
And twice in almost 7 year I had PT freeze or fail to opne and I had to uninstall and reinstall which corrected the problems.