Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2018, 04:30 PM
eduy eduy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Miami
Posts: 2
Default buying used HD io and hd nativa Thunderbolt card

hello,

I never purchased Avid hardware before, but im interested in buying HD io 16x16 Analog this year and hd Thunderbolt native card.

I saw many used sold separetly in eBay, just the units, but my questions are:

1) Will i be able to use the units without registering them to my name or the previous owners have to transfer ownerships if they are already registered? what problems would i have or what would i miss if those units are already registered by another persona? will it work and i only lose warranty?
2) what happends if previous owner dosnt want to transfer ownership after i parchase used from him?
3) transfer is free?
4) they are bonded to a pro tools account or i can buy my own pro tools License after when i want?
5) is the Problem only with pro tools software account or with hardware too?

my main doubts are, what are the difference from a new hd io and card, to used hd io and used card.. because price from used is like 50%..

if someone can explain i appreciate it.thanks a lot
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-03-2018, 06:01 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,029
Default Re: buying used HD io and hd nativa Thunderbolt card

The only things you NEED to run the hardware is a license(and software) for Pro Tools HD(or Ultimate) software, and a Digilink license(after PT12.6 IIRC). You can also save more money and go with 1 or 2 of the older 192 IO boxes as they still function perfectly well with 2018.7Ultimate Just pay attention to the exact version as the 192 Digital is ONLY digital IO(no analog cards allowed). With "standard" 192's around $500, they are a bargain(the "standard" having 8 analog IO and 8 digital IO).


The thing that needs to be registered is the software, and that is so that you have access to the software and future updates(depending on the plan you buy). In the old days, you could not buy software alone, but these days, you can. Just remember that you need HD or Ultimate to run with the card and IO.
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-03-2018, 06:59 PM
eduy eduy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Miami
Posts: 2
Default Re: buying used HD io and hd nativa Thunderbolt card

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
The only things you NEED to run the hardware is a license(and software) for Pro Tools HD(or Ultimate) software, and a Digilink license(after PT12.6 IIRC). You can also save more money and go with 1 or 2 of the older 192 IO boxes as they still function perfectly well with 2018.7Ultimate Just pay attention to the exact version as the 192 Digital is ONLY digital IO(no analog cards allowed). With "standard" 192's around $500, they are a bargain(the "standard" having 8 analog IO and 8 digital IO).


The thing that needs to be registered is the software, and that is so that you have access to the software and future updates(depending on the plan you buy). In the old days, you could not buy software alone, but these days, you can. Just remember that you need HD or Ultimate to run with the card and IO.
so if they have previously used their PT HD accounts with hd io and card, i can use my own PT hd account and digilink License with this used hardware? doesn't matter they were used with other software account? i mean for example if when i register my account it ask me for the serial number etc..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-03-2018, 08:35 PM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 478
Default buying used HD io and hd nativa Thunderbolt card

Quote:
Originally Posted by eduy View Post
so if they have previously used their PT HD accounts with hd io and card, i can use my own PT hd account and digilink License with this used hardware? doesn't matter they were used with other software account? i mean for example if when i register my account it ask me for the serial number etc..


If you have a current HD license and digilink license, I can’t see why not. Look up Avids process for equipment transfers. I have sold hardware this way, it is fairly straight forward. You can also contact support through your account.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / TB3 AIC
PT2018.10 / HDX1 / Eucon 18.3 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD x8P, OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII Thunderbolt

Late 2013 MacBook Pro / PT2018.10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD native thunderbolt with thunderbolt card on desktop PC? martthie_08 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 9 10-12-2016 10:26 PM
Thunderbolt PCIe Card obyone Pro Tools Software (Win) 5 04-05-2016 03:34 PM
PT HD10/11 plus Thunderbolt Card Southsidemusic Buy & Sell 2 01-27-2016 05:29 AM
Trade hd native PCIe card for hd native thunderbolt card and cash? Brandonx1 Buy & Sell 8 03-22-2015 01:45 AM
Native Card vs Thunderbolt external brickroadstudio Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 09-28-2012 01:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com