Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-04-2007, 10:26 AM

Default Gain, level on preamp vs gain on Digi (guidelines)?

Novice here, and just bought a Shure KSM44 mic and Universal Audio SOLO/610 tube preamp (woo hoo).

So, the preamp has a GAIN knob and a LEVEL knob. My Digi002 has the GAIN knob (of course) where the mic is coming in.

So what's the balance/relationship here? Am I looking for the GAIN on the Digi to be as low as possible (so as not to use the built in pre-amp which is cheaper than my SOLO/610)?

I unstnad that the fatter tube sound I want, the higher should be the GAIN on my SOLO/610.

I'm playing around with different configurations among the 3 knobs. I guess my main question is should the level on the SOLO/610 be high and the GAIN on the Digi low... are there any guidelines?

Thanks,
Ron
Boulder, CO 80306
http://www.westinis.com
Old 10-04-2007, 12:01 PM

Default Re: Gain, level on preamp vs gain on Digi (guidelines)?

You should use the line inputs 5 6 7 or 8 in your 002 to plug in your new preamp. NEVER conect a preamp into another preamp.

The gain regulates the input of the mic or instrument your are plugin to the 610.
The level, the output to the 002, easy to check with the level meters if you choose the mix window.

For this specific unit what other people recomend is to have the gain around 10 o'clock to start, and the level a 3 o'clock, but it really depends on many factors.
Old 10-04-2007, 02:37 PM

I'm a dummy, thanks.