Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2011, 02:39 PM
SupposedGhosts SupposedGhosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 5
Default Sound Distortion Issues with Pro Tools 8

Hello,

Been having some troubles with my newly installed Pro Tools rig. Things are ok in general except for an extremely distorted sound quality. It sounds like the system is running at a lower sample rate or bit rate and cutting huge chunks of sound out. Muting tracks leaves a strange, rattling, distorted noise when nothing is playing.

I have a hunch that it's something to do with my laptop setup. Is that a viable option? Other suggestions?

My rig:
Pro Tools 8
MBox Mini
Snow Leopard 10.6 OSX
2 GB of RAM on my system (my hunch for what's wrong, might it also be my sound card?)
30 GB of Hard Drive Space (running most of the audio off a USB linked external)

Anything else I can specify that might help?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2011, 02:47 PM
plastikman plastikman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Detroit
Posts: 238
Default Re: Sound Distortion Issues with Pro Tools 8

You should not be using a USB drive. Connect the external drive via firewire.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SupposedGhosts View Post
Anything else I can specify that might help?
It would help to be a bit more specific with your setup/gear. You mentioned laptop, what kind of laptop and what are the specs?

You say PT8, what version is it? PT8.? 8.0.0? 8.0.2? 8.1?

Same with OS 10.6. Is it 10.6? 10.6.2? 10.6.6?

Same with MBox Mini. MBox 2 Mini, or MBox 3 Mini?

The RAM could be an issue if you are running an intensive session, i.e. lots of VIs, tracks, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2011, 03:27 PM
SupposedGhosts SupposedGhosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 5
Default Re: Sound Distortion Issues with Pro Tools 8

Laptop is a 2007 Macbook Pro
- 2.2 Ghz Intel Core Duo
- 2 GB 667 Mhz DDR2 SDRAM

OSX is the original install of Snow Leopard, so 10.6

My copy of Pro Tools is listed as 8.0.4 in the manual I got with the install, but the outside packaging only says 8.0. So I'm not sure, but I think I'm running 8.0.4.

Mbox 3 Mini

This particular project is running about 30 tracks. Think that would be enough to make an impact on the RAM?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2011, 05:08 PM
plastikman plastikman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Detroit
Posts: 238
Default Re: Sound Distortion Issues with Pro Tools 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by SupposedGhosts View Post
Laptop is a 2007 Macbook Pro
- 2.2 Ghz Intel Core Duo
- 2 GB 667 Mhz DDR2 SDRAM

OSX is the original install of Snow Leopard, so 10.6

My copy of Pro Tools is listed as 8.0.4 in the manual I got with the install, but the outside packaging only says 8.0. So I'm not sure, but I think I'm running 8.0.4.

Mbox 3 Mini

This particular project is running about 30 tracks. Think that would be enough to make an impact on the RAM?
It could, depending how many plug ins are in use.

Pro Tools version is shown in the startup box, or you can right click on the Pro Tools icon you use to launch the app and select 'Get Info'; it will show which version there.

I don't have an MBox 3 so some other users may know a more specific cause of your problem, but you should still change your external hard drive connection from USB to firewire. That will improve system performance.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-24-2011, 07:26 AM
SupposedGhosts SupposedGhosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 5
Default Re: Sound Distortion Issues with Pro Tools 8

Ok...updates. After sitting down with my professor and trying a few different things, it seems that the problem is coming from my computer itself. I've uninstalled and reinstalled Pro Tools and the MBox drivers several times over now, with no luck.

Sound is still distorted, even when running just one track of audio.

I've also reset parameter RAM and reconfigured my settings several times over (with the help of Avid's support line).

Does anyone think uninstalling and reinstalling Snow Leopard would do anything? Any other suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-24-2011, 09:22 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,615
Default Re: Sound Distortion Issues with Pro Tools 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by SupposedGhosts View Post
Does anyone think uninstalling and reinstalling Snow Leopard would do anything?
Very unlikely.
Noise and distortion from a otherwise working PT application, I would be looking for hardware failure.

Do you have Digi Core Audio manager installed? If so you can select the mbox as output for all mac audio in system preferences. Do you get the same distortion from f.ex iTunes? (You have to quit PT.)

Is the Noise and distortion present in headphones also?
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six core i5 3.0 gHz, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8 and iPad w/Avid Control.
Pro Tools 2020.11, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-25-2011, 10:48 AM
SupposedGhosts SupposedGhosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 5
Default Re: Sound Distortion Issues with Pro Tools 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
Very unlikely.
Noise and distortion from a otherwise working PT application, I would be looking for hardware failure.

Do you have Digi Core Audio manager installed? If so you can select the mbox as output for all mac audio in system preferences. Do you get the same distortion from f.ex iTunes? (You have to quit PT.)

Is the Noise and distortion present in headphones also?


core audio's installed
noise is present in headphones and yes, I do get the same distortion issues in my itunes and other audio.
Have tried other interfaces and gotten the same issues.

Someone speculated that it might in fact be my laptop USB port that's malfunctioning. Yikes. Think that's valid?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-25-2011, 11:11 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,615
Default Re: Sound Distortion Issues with Pro Tools 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by SupposedGhosts View Post
Have tried other interfaces and gotten the same issues.
Well, that rules out interface malfunction.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SupposedGhosts View Post
I've uninstalled and reinstalled Pro Tools and the MBox drivers several times over now, with no luck.
Sound is still distorted, even when running just one track of audio.
I've also reset parameter RAM and reconfigured my settings several times over (with the help of Avid's support line).
And I would say that most likely rules out the software setup.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SupposedGhosts View Post
Someone speculated that it might in fact be my laptop USB port that's malfunctioning. Yikes. Think that's valid?
Could be. Have you tried a different cable?
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six core i5 3.0 gHz, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8 and iPad w/Avid Control.
Pro Tools 2020.11, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-25-2011, 11:18 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,615
Default Re: Sound Distortion Issues with Pro Tools 8

I did a search for "usb cable" and immediately found other people who solved problems with bad sound by switching cables:

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t...ight=usb+cable
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six core i5 3.0 gHz, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8 and iPad w/Avid Control.
Pro Tools 2020.11, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-01-2011, 08:28 PM
SupposedGhosts SupposedGhosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 5
Default Re: Sound Distortion Issues with Pro Tools 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
Well, that rules out interface malfunction.

And I would say that most likely rules out the software setup.

Could be. Have you tried a different cable?
I tried several different cables, all to no avail. It's starting to look like the problem really is emanating from my USB port, which scares me a fair amount. Not sure if I have the cash/time to take that in for repair.

I'll keep posting with hope that possibly there are some other ideas floating around out there. Been searching the site for suggestions to no avail.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 issues... (midi + distortion) jfed macOS 4 10-28-2013 02:29 PM
Sound Distortion/Buzzing In Pro Tools SE? StereoProphet Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 1 06-16-2013 02:27 PM
sound card issues with pro tools 8 / windows 7 jborkin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-19-2010 01:00 PM
Pro Tools/ Sound Blaster compatibility issues? narkopuppy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-05-2008 02:19 PM
Sound distortion with Pro tools LE 7.1 melodic101 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-16-2007 10:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com