Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2010, 08:26 AM
czorro czorro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 11
Default LFE channel panning?

I recently completed a 5.1 mix using bass management in Protools and I'm confused about the settings for the panner of the LFE. When I solo it, there's duplicate audio from the other channels, not just low end info and it's being reproduced on the other speakers. Shouldn't the audio for the LFE be isolated on the subwoofer? How do I set the panner to accomplish this? The crossover is set for 80HZ and no filter.
Thanks,
Wrick
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-03-2010, 09:33 AM
tigas tigas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 150
Default Re: LFE channel panning?

What are you using for bass management? Bass management will do precisely that: catch low frequency information that the monitors of the main channels can't reproduce and divert them to the subwoofer (based on the idea that low-frequencies are non-localizable).

Are you soloing on the surround controller? If so, what you're hearing should be right.

If you're soloing in ProTools and finding that you hear full-range sound on the LFE, you should note that the LFE send in each track's panner does not filter the sound to the LFE bandwidth, and some monitoring setups will not do it either (DMU in Line-in, for example). You should have an LFE master fader with an EQ3 1-band in Highpass@80Hz and 24dB slope inserted.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2010, 08:40 PM
czorro czorro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 11
Default Re: LFE channel panning?

Thanks for your response, Tigas. Yes when I solo the LFE with the JBL controller, the audio is correct. What concerns me is when I do a bounce, high and mid frequency info shows up on the LFE bounced channel. Also how do I prevent the LFE audio from showing up on the rest of the speakers?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2010, 11:55 PM
garnoil garnoil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,236
Default Re: LFE channel panning?

Quote:
Originally Posted by czorro View Post
I recently completed a 5.1 mix using bass management in Protools and I'm confused about the settings for the panner of the LFE. When I solo it, there's duplicate audio from the other channels, not just low end info and it's being reproduced on the other speakers. Shouldn't the audio for the LFE be isolated on the subwoofer? How do I set the panner to accomplish this? The crossover is set for 80HZ and no filter.
Thanks,
Wrick
If you are using Bass Manager software (like Waves Surround Bundle) you have to disable the Bass Manager before you bounce. The bass manager is an emulator of a typical home theatre receiver, and it is used to let you hear how your mix would sound on a typical home theatre system. The bass manager extracts low frequency info from all 5 channels (typcally from 120 hz and below) and routes it to the subwoofer. Aside from playing these "bass extraction" from the 5 speakers, the subwoofer also plays the LFE channel (which is a separate discrete entity). If you bounce with the bass manager engaged, you will be bouncing an "incorrectly equalized mix with a wrong bass distribution" as you will be bouncing a "heavily equalized sound mix"..this will sound horrible and the low end will be completely wrong. The bass manager is a "monitor only" system. Cinemas do not use bass manager but most home theatre receivers do.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-05-2010, 09:15 AM
tigas tigas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 150
Default Re: LFE channel panning?

Quote:
Originally Posted by czorro View Post
Thanks for your response, Tigas. Yes when I solo the LFE with the JBL controller, the audio is correct. What concerns me is when I do a bounce, high and mid frequency info shows up on the LFE bounced channel. Also how do I prevent the LFE audio from showing up on the rest of the speakers?
Like I said, make a mono Master Fader assigned to the LFE output or mix bus channel (mono subpath) and insert in this Master Fader an EQ3 1-band with the settings in my previous response.

As for LFE audio on the other channels, I'm not sure what you mean.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-09-2010, 08:04 AM
czorro czorro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 11
Default Re: LFE channel panning?

I'm using the JBL 4328s with a JBL subwoofer. It comes with monitor control software including bass management. When I calibrated my control room, I did a calibration with and without bass management so I can selectively mix. Should I do a "cinema mix" without bass management and a "home theater mix" with bass management for home use?
What I mean about "other speakers" is when I re-import the 5.1 bounced tracks including LFE, back into a Protools session, that channel has a surround panner on it which sends the LFE audio wherever it's panned. I don't know how to defeat the channel panning so it goes only to the sub.
I hope that's clear and I appreciate all the responses.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-09-2010, 09:49 AM
mixboy bob mixboy bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 564
Default Re: LFE channel panning?

You have to route that track directly to the LFE hardware output.

IHTH.

Rob Burrell
aka mixboy
__________________
http://www.robburrell.com
PTHD Ultimate 2020.BETA/2019 Mac Pro 3.2ghz 16-core/96GB RAM/Aja Kona LHi/Akitio Thunder 3 Quad Mini with 4TB SSD drives/Focusrite 16Line/UAD-2 Octo PCIe/32 Channel S1/Dock with (5) 2019 Amazon Fire HD 10 Tablets/XMON//11.1.4 Dolby Atmos Setup
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MC Mix-Stereo channel right side panning priorytools Artist Series 3 08-29-2012 09:54 AM
Strange CoreAudio issue - right channel information getting into left channel -JK- Pro Tools 9 5 01-10-2011 08:42 AM
Multi-channel plugin default 'channel view'? Floydio Tips & Tricks 1 11-26-2010 10:47 AM
Selecting a Channel on Icon does not select channel in ProTools teacherman ICON & C|24 2 06-07-2010 11:59 AM
How to Copy Plugin Insert From a Channel to other channel Amr Mahmoud ICON & C|24 8 11-12-2008 04:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com