Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-30-2007, 05:17 PM
tioluis tioluis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Default How do I copy and paste audio files?

Hi everyone my name is Luis, I am very new to protools but really want to learn as much as possible, just installed the program to my new mac and started to record and start sessions, I just have a question and I apologize if this has already been addressed on the board, I am new so please bare with me if that is the case. I just need to know how I can copy and paste audio waves in a session to another area? On cubase it was very simple I would just right click--> press copy and then paste the piece wherever I wanted but protools is more complicated and I just can't seem to find the function where I can paste, I've found the copy button but when I click on another area to paste the wave file the paste option is no longer lit up indicating it isn't capable of pasting. Can someone please tell me what I am doing wrong and how I can do this right. Thanks ahead of time ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-30-2007, 06:46 PM
Shawn Simpson Shawn Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: How do I copy and paste audio files?

it works exactly the same as the copy/paste function in every other program. Select what you want, copy. Put the cursor where you want it, paste. Both of those functions (copy/paste) are found under the edit menu. If that's not working for you, you're going to have to provide more information about what you're trying to do before anybody can help you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2007, 03:50 AM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: How do I copy and paste audio files?

Hi Luis,

warm welcome...

If you wanna learn lots of stuff quickly may I suggest the following:

1) Let the PT manual be the last you see before closing your eyes at night )) (Makes you sleep fast too)
2) Invest a few buck in cool PT videos (They can show you a lot of great editing/Mixing tips that you would not even think of
reading the manual
3) Kenny Gioia has made a video portraying his workflow which is probably the best $40 dollars you could spend momentarily, here's the link Kenny Gioia's Videos
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-01-2007, 07:53 AM
RobMacki RobMacki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson State, USA
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: How do I copy and paste audio files?

Quote:
press copy and then paste the piece wherever I wanted but protools is more complicated and I just can't seem to find the function where I can paste, I've found the copy button but when I click on another area to paste the wave file the paste option is no longer lit up indicating it isn't capable of pasting. Can someone please tell me what I am doing wrong and how I can do this right. Thanks ahead of time ;-)
Could be a couple of things.
Are you using the PT keyboard?
Do you wish to be in Commands Focus Mode? (that is the mode where you can use single stroke key commands)
Is the "A-Z" box selected in the Edit window?

Second thing could be if you are trying to paste a mono region to a stereo track or vise-versa.

And, what 25ghosts said.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-01-2007, 10:22 AM
tioluis tioluis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: How do I copy and paste audio files?

Thank you all so much, I just figired it out, it was nothing compliacated I just wasn't higlighting the area I wanted pasted corectly thanks again for the response.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copy works paste doesnt paste??? SoMedia Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 12 01-04-2011 01:19 PM
Shuffle doesn't shift volumes - copy & paste doesn't copy automation marcnyc Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-12-2010 12:46 AM
audio popping/spikesfrom copy and paste edits freakuincy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-03-2007 09:38 PM
When I copy audio and paste it somewhere else..... AbjectEvolution Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 09-04-2006 11:52 AM
Renaming exported audio files using copy & paste soundboy35 General Discussion 1 09-11-2004 03:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com