Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-02-2015, 03:37 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default HD Features in Native Changes the Need for HD

I guess I have to say I'm happy that they gave Disk Cache, Meters, and VCA to Native. The only HD feature left for me is Clip Gain, and I do like it, but can easily live without it. Lets face it, VCA and Disk Cache going native is a pretty big deal.

Feature wise, doesn't this really change the game in regards to compelling reasons to stay HD, let alone buy HD?
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2015, 03:55 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,704
Default Re: HD Features in Native Changes the Need for HD

somewhat, but one feature that will never go native is latency free hp mixes.....while recording.

That never gets old.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2015, 04:04 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,555
Default Re: HD Features in Native Changes the Need for HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Johns View Post
I guess I have to say I'm happy that they gave Disk Cache, Meters, and VCA to Native. The only HD feature left for me is Clip Gain, and I do like it, but can easily live without it. Lets face it, VCA and Disk Cache going native is a pretty big deal.
Clip Gain is in vanilla, always has been.

HD is down to Surround, larger I/O limit, advanced automation features, and a few more.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2015, 04:05 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: HD Features in Native Changes the Need for HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
somewhat, but one feature that will never go native is latency free hp mixes.....while recording.
Luckily for me, I have TotalMix for this, regardless of which DAW I'm using. Ditto for other interfaces that have software mixers with live monitoring and decent routing/matrixing. But yeah, PTHD+HDX is great for this.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-2015, 04:05 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: HD Features in Native Changes the Need for HD

For me this has kind of made my decisions for the future pretty simple. Keep running TDM for the next five years, then make the move back to Native as I have no doubt that there will be lots of compelling products like the Apollo come out over the next five years that will compel me to move away from TDM. For now, I'm very happy!
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-02-2015, 04:07 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: HD Features in Native Changes the Need for HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
Luckily for me, I have TotalMix for this, regardless of which DAW I'm using. Ditto for other interfaces that have software mixers with live monitoring and decent routing/matrixing.
Not anywhere near close to the same my friend. It's useful, and effective, but its just nowhere near the same. Been there done that too much, never going back to that kind of workflow.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-2015, 04:16 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: HD Features in Native Changes the Need for HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Johns View Post
Not anywhere near close to the same my friend. It's useful, and effective, but its just nowhere near the same. Been there done that too much, never going back to that kind of workflow.
Well, it's pretty cool now that TotalMix supports the Artist Mix. I think it's close, and certainly good enough for government work - but you're right, not as seamless as using a real HD system.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-02-2015, 04:56 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: HD Features in Native Changes the Need for HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
Well, it's pretty cool now that TotalMix supports the Artist Mix. I think it's close, and certainly good enough for government work - but you're right, not as seamless as using a real HD system.
Didn't know that it work with the artist mix. I do like that.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-02-2015, 05:06 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: HD Features in Native Changes the Need for HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Johns View Post
Didn't know that it work with the artist mix. I do like that.
Not the most efficient use of the controller, to be honest. But if you've got a spare BCF2000 lying around, that's a great fit - no automation in Totalmix, so the BCF unit's lack of touch sensitivity is moot. I find myself using my computer's touchscreen for Totalmix, when on my laptop.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-02-2015, 05:54 PM
CygnusX-1Bk2 CygnusX-1Bk2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 622
Default Re: HD Features in Native Changes the Need for HD

HD now includes the Avid Pro plugins (including Reverb One and Revibe which I already own) so at least there is something in HD to hang onto but it appears as though the feature lines between HD and Standard are being reduced.
__________________
I will choose,
Freewill
http://jimdiazaudio.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does HD native or native native disable plugins when monitoring inputs? BasketCase Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 05-20-2013 09:48 AM
Upcoming Webinar (5/9/12) on HD Native features Sean Halley nst7 Eleven Rack 10 06-05-2012 12:18 PM
HD native features? rafukyo Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 12-20-2010 02:07 PM
SSL4000 native/ Renmaxx native/ DUY everpack native!!! cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-22-2007 08:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com