Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2007, 07:58 AM
macrae11 macrae11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 19
Default Headphone Mixes from sends

Hey all

Little headphone trouble here. Everything is monitored strictly from PT, no console. The only problem i'm having is when we change sessions to start a new song, I import session data from the last song, which brings all the tracks in with the send assingments already sent. The only problem, is that the levels on the sends aren't the same as the last save of the session. They seem to be saved as they were at the beginning of the session before the headphone mixes were finished. So every song i have to go back and re-tweak all the headphone mixes.

Has anyone else experienced this? is there any other ways around it? Is it a bug?

Any help would be greatly appriciated.

Cheers

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2007, 08:14 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,555
Default Re: Headphone Mixes from sends

I've seen this and it's a bug. It doesn't always happen and going back to the original session and tweaking and resaving, then re-importing some times fixes it. Since it's not 100% reproducible i've been unable to report it properly.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2007, 09:35 AM
macrae11 macrae11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 19
Default Re: Headphone Mixes from sends

Yeah i know what you mean. Unfortunatley i don't usually have time in a gig to go back to a previous session to do tweaks. Also sometimes the headphone mixes are changing from song to song, so it's not just one session i'm drawing from, i'm continually updating the mix from song to song.

Does anyone have any other ways of doing headphone mixes from session to session other than import session data? I can't think of any other way to do it.

Probably shouldn't hold my breath for a fix from Digi either should I? ;P
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2007, 06:44 PM
Andrew. D Andrew. D is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 142
Default Re: Headphone Mixes from sends

Try taking all your tracks out of record before you do the save otherwise ProTools reverts back to the last time you made a save without being in record mode.
This is true of the main faders anyway so maybe it would help you.
__________________
Mac Pro, Mid 2010 dual 3.33 Ghz, 48 Gig RAM
Mac OS 10.14.5
ProTools Ultimate 2019.5
HD Native PCIe
Apogee Symphony I/O
Avid I/O
192 I/O
Waves DLI
Apogee Mini Me
Mbox Micro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2007, 01:47 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,753
Default Re: Headphone Mixes from sends

Quote:
Does anyone have any other ways of doing headphone mixes from session to session other than import session data? I can't think of any other way to do it.
I have used one technique that involves bussing and importing session data. But it works wonderfully and gives me quick control over three separate cue mixes.

First of all, the idea is to virtually build another mixer for cue mixes. That can be done by setting a buss for every track that will be monitored (for example, KIT-MON, BASS-MON, LV-MON, BV-MON etc). Then set pre-sends at unity for all those monitored tracks. This way you forward monitoring decisions to another channel strips.

Then, insert as many new aux tracks as you need. Set inputs to the busses used earlier. Assuming you have two sends visible ("A" and "F" for example, not send assignments) you can easily make two different que mixes from the sends plus one additional mix by mixing the aux tracks together.

Now when you have made those perfect cue mixes for the band and need to change session to another song, all you need to do is set some pre-sends to unity and import those aux tracks into the new session - and that's it. Just where you left it.

(this eats more DSP, but the level of control I have over three cue mixes is priceless to me)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2007, 01:17 PM
macrae11 macrae11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 19
Default Re: Headphone Mixes from sends

Thanks for the input! I will try both of these out and see how they go.

Peace
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-02-2007, 01:17 PM
macrae11 macrae11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 19
Default Re: Headphone Mixes from sends

Thanks for the input! I will try both of these out and see how they go.

Peace
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-02-2007, 07:54 PM
ledogboy ledogboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
Default Re: Headphone Mixes from sends

Quote:
Try taking all your tracks out of record before you do the save otherwise ProTools reverts back to the last time you made a save without being in record mode.
This is true of the main faders anyway so maybe it would help you.
+1 on this. I had a nightmare with headphone sends transfering with imports, and someone suggested making sure my tracks were out of record when saving. No problems since then.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Headphone mixes; how to toddbux General Discussion 5 09-23-2009 02:47 PM
headphone sends dean7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 10-29-2003 01:17 PM
headphone mixes.. sends.. help please metaltim 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 08-28-2003 03:09 AM
PT and headphone mixes. hbj Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-22-2003 03:51 AM
Sends for headphone mix vocalize 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 06-03-2002 09:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com