Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2020, 06:22 PM
jbreher jbreher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 24
Default Sound quality: HD I/O Digital vs. 192 Digital

Might one expect an increase in sound quality in switching out a 192 Digital for a HD I/O Digital?

Or would it be a wash -- sound quality wise -- as the HD I/O's sonic benefits are in the A/D and D/A, which are external to either unit?

Latency difference?
__________________
MacPro Early 2009 - 2.66 GHz Quad Xeon, 20GB 1066 MHz DDR3, AMD Radeon R9 280X 3072 MB, OSX 10.8.5
PT 10.3.8.378, HD Native PCIe, HD I/O 16A, HD I/O 8x8x8, OMNI
MacBook Pro 2019 16" - 2.4 GHz 8-Core i9, 64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4, AMD Radeon Pro 5500M 8 GB, macOS 10.15.2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2020, 09:00 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,610
Default Re: Sound quality: HD I/O Digital vs. 192 Digital

Both are *digital* so there is no conversion done... so no, no sound difference.

(and I'm just going to igore questions like if the digital jitter is different on each and what you are driving with them and if that could even matter... ).

Stop worrying and go make Music.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2020, 12:53 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,705
Default Sound quality: HD I/O Digital vs. 192 Digital

Hey Dram what up? Long time

On the second question what Daryl is saying is that it is very little difference most likely

However I would go with a new one if it’s all the same just because it will have more shelf life....these things aren’t 60’s guitar amps they won’t mature with age.....and develop character all of a sudden.

I would expect a newer one to have a lower noise floor, but as Daryl implied it also has to do with a host of other variables

And yes I would also gather the HDio’s to have a cleaner AD/DA
But in reality get what you can afford and go at it......the better gear always shows up later
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2020, 01:43 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,789
Default Re: Sound quality: HD I/O Digital vs. 192 Digital

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
better gear always shows up later
This is the truth that costs so much money to understand.

I bought an Apogee Symphony mkII almost the day it was out and have been happy ever since. I do not see a sound quality reason to "ever" change this AD/DA, and this box even has one expansion slot available should I need more I/O at home than this 2in 6out I currently have.

So what I'm trying to say once you go over the "good enough to not hear a difference in blind tests" you can stop wondering if there was something better available.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2020, 09:07 AM
jbreher jbreher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 24
Default Re: Sound quality: HD I/O Digital vs. 192 Digital

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
I would expect a newer one to have a lower noise floor,

I don't think I understand this. The comparison is HD I/O _Digital_ vs 192 _Digital_. As the unit in question never sees analog, how would noise enter the signal?
__________________
MacPro Early 2009 - 2.66 GHz Quad Xeon, 20GB 1066 MHz DDR3, AMD Radeon R9 280X 3072 MB, OSX 10.8.5
PT 10.3.8.378, HD Native PCIe, HD I/O 16A, HD I/O 8x8x8, OMNI
MacBook Pro 2019 16" - 2.4 GHz 8-Core i9, 64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4, AMD Radeon Pro 5500M 8 GB, macOS 10.15.2
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2020, 09:55 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,789
Default Re: Sound quality: HD I/O Digital vs. 192 Digital

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbreher View Post
I don't think I understand this. The comparison is HD I/O _Digital_ vs 192 _Digital_. As the unit in question never sees analog, how would noise enter the signal?
That is the debate of digital jitter that nobody wants to touch
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2020, 07:56 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,705
Default Re: Sound quality: HD I/O Digital vs. 192 Digital

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
This is the truth that costs so much money to understand.

I bought an Apogee Symphony mkII almost the day it was out and have been happy ever since. I do not see a sound quality reason to "ever" change this AD/DA.......So what I'm trying to say once you go over the "good enough to not hear a difference in blind tests" you can stop wondering if there was something better available.
I agree, what I was trying to say is that the OP should buy what he can afford right now and later the opportunity will come to upgrade the signal chain, should he decide to.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbreher View Post
I don't think I understand this. The comparison is HD I/O _Digital_ vs 192 _Digital_. As the unit in question never sees analog, how would noise enter the signal?
Well what I am talking about is two fold.
1. The topic of what jfreak/dram are talking about. Jitter, noise, connections, quality ect.
2. The noise floor of the actual unit....that is all the parts that make up the device. Each audio device has one....so I would gather a newer device has a lower noise floor......
An audio device has a calculated and stated noise floor and as the device ages the floor will rise....no matter how much the OEM says it won't.

and yes your signal is digital, however it will eventually have to come out of that domain.....eventually.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: High Quality Digital XLR cables Captain Audio Buy & Sell 0 05-22-2012 12:11 PM
Newbie Digital IO question - HD Digital i/o vs 192 Digital vs X-HD mrdosun Pro Tools 10 1 02-17-2012 12:20 AM
Dr. Dre + HP Aim To Improve Digital Sound Quality pneyrinck General Discussion 2 08-18-2009 07:16 PM
general digital recording question on sound quality cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-08-2007 06:38 AM
Puzzled by digital quality Markk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 12-20-2005 08:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com