Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2013, 04:53 PM
soundsnoop soundsnoop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default FWx ProTools 10 Virtual Soundcheck- Thunderbolt?

Looking to get a new MacBook Pro for Virtual Soundcheck, using ProTools 10/ 32 tracks, can I connect FWx to Thunderbolt? Any issues?
Also curious if anyone has tried using a MacBook Air?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-10-2013, 12:57 PM
Brent Lind Brent Lind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 233
Default Re: FWx ProTools 10 Virtual Soundcheck- Thunderbolt?

Yes, using a Thunderbolt to Firewire adaptor you can connect that way, but realize you won't gain any performance as the bus is limited to FW400 coming out of the desk. It will be no different than a traditional Firewire connection, which also means that virtual soundcheck is a bit flawed in that the gains won't be anywhere near exact.

There are many threads discussing the limitations of VS using Firewire and, depending on your needs, some useful workarounds, but understand it won't ever be as seamless as any HDx configuration.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2013, 09:02 PM
soundsnoop soundsnoop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: FWx ProTools 10 Virtual Soundcheck- Thunderbolt?

Thanks thats exactly what I need to know.

I'm aware of the limitation. Just looking for something to substitute HDx for one offs/ fly dates/ etc.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2013, 06:44 AM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: FWx ProTools 10 Virtual Soundcheck- Thunderbolt?

You also might want to consider HD Native Thunderbolt interface. And don't forget Profiles come not equipped with neither FWx or HDx, so you need to ask them to get you a desk with a card. SC48 comes with FWx, but can't have HDx... so FWx is more universal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can an SC48 do Virtual Soundcheck? LanceK VENUE Live Sound Systems 0 03-16-2014 07:39 PM
Advice on PC for Virtual Soundcheck Scott Fahy VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 01-06-2011 05:19 AM
SC48 Virtual soundcheck Sidhu VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 04-22-2010 01:43 PM
Video into PT for Virtual Soundcheck? SimonInAustralia VENUE Live Sound Systems 11 03-26-2010 06:17 PM
Virtual soundcheck tom42107 VENUE Live Sound Systems 13 01-07-2009 09:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com