Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-19-2007, 02:27 PM

Default A \"Pro\" power amp or Stereo Receiver for Yamaha NS10\'s?

Hey all, I'm an intermediate level recording hobbyist, and an unlce of mine just sold me an old trusty pair of Yamaha NS10 studio monitors that he just doesn't use and were collecting dust. i got them at a steal deal for 300$ for the pair (What he paid for them back in 1995, so he broke even and was happy). i've only used Active speakers before, so i I've never matched a power amp to speakers. Whats a good "trusty" Amp to get along with the yamahas? I don't need a huge million watt amp, just something middle of the road for low level mixing. Also, I have an older Kentwood Stereo comsumer receiver/amp layin' around that I could use? the Impedences and wattage are compatible, but would i be sacrificing my audio chain and sound quality at all by using the Consumer Receiver rather than a dedicated professional Amp? I also like to use Balanced signals whenever I can.

Any inputs or suggestions would be great. Thanks a lot. -AR
Old 03-19-2007, 09:10 PM

Default Re: A \"Pro\" power amp or Stereo Receiver for Yamaha NS10\'s?

I would stay with a pro power amp for a few reasons. 1-they seem to have more headroom. 2-they are usually made to accept a balanced input at +4 while a home unit will only have unbalanced RCA inputs at -10. 3-they are rack-mountable for a slicker setup.Some of the Samson and Alesis amps are decent and inexpensive. Next better would be QSC, then maybe Hafler. Bryston is top dog for studio monitors(but you will pay a premium for that 20 year warrantee).

The better I drink, the more I mix