Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2016, 03:46 AM
viljoman viljoman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 3
Default Pro Tools LE 8.0.4 and mbox mini

I have Mbox mini device and Pro Tools LE 8.0.4 software. I'm using Windows 10. Problem is that Pro Tools software doesn't register the instrument signal coming from the Mbox. For example, when I'm trying to record guitars i can hear the guitar sound from my headphones and the signal light in Mbox lights up. Still, The Pro Tools track, i'm willing to use, doesn't register the signal, in other words, the volume meter doesn't "move" and no sound is recorded.

I Have downloaded latest drivers and set the Mbox to be used. The problem is the same with other softwares (Reaper, Garageband) and allso with MAC.

What's the problem? Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2016, 05:06 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,517
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8.0.4 and mbox mini

Assuming you know how to use your various recording software one thing I can think of right away is the MBox Mini not being compatible with Windows 10.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2016, 09:07 AM
viljoman viljoman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8.0.4 and mbox mini

That may be the issue, but i've allso tried using mac which didn't do it any better. So i think it's not about windows 10.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-30-2016, 11:27 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,517
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8.0.4 and mbox mini

Quote:
Originally Posted by viljoman View Post
That may be the issue, but i've allso tried using mac which didn't do it any better. So i think it's not about windows 10.
What OSX version was on the Mac you tried? Old hardware can't be expected to work with modern s/w forever; there comes a time when a developer just stops supporting operating systems that are way newer than when the original system was designed.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2016, 01:22 AM
viljoman viljoman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8.0.4 and mbox mini

Can't remember the version, but pretty sure that it is quite old one. Mbox driver description says that it is suitable for windows 10.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-26-2016, 06:48 AM
810 810 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Krakow Poland
Posts: 47
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8.0.4 and mbox mini

There are lots of places along the chain where this problem could be coming from.
If you are still looking at the same setup, you can try making sure windows is not somehow grabbing your audio input as its system input and thus blinding pro tools to it.

This would just require a right click on the speaker icon (the windows speaker icon, usually bottom right) and looking at audio devices, make sure the default windows input is NOT the m box.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-26-2016, 08:28 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,601
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8.0.4 and mbox mini

Pro Tools 8.0.5 was qualified for Win 7, so it MIGHT work marginally on Win 10 (it didn't work very well on Win 8.1....I tried it.) But as stated earlier, software developers don't waste much time making old software/hardware combinations compatible with NEW configurations. FWIW, PT 10 is running pretty well for me on Win 10, but I rarely use it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-26-2016, 08:36 AM
810 810 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Krakow Poland
Posts: 47
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8.0.4 and mbox mini

I found the need to upgrade. But if OP really dont mind pro tools 8's RAM limitation and asio4all inability, (ie if he simply wanna be able to use it on the new computer) I found mine worked. Version 8.0.5, M powered (fast track ultra and its readily downloadable latest driver) with Windows 10. But as I said you got to go through the whole chain of controls and enable it to see despite windows and other potential flow obstacles.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-26-2016, 11:47 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,799
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8.0.4 and mbox mini

Back to the original issue, what kind of track are you trying to record your guitar to? A typical "newbie" mistake is to attempt to record an instrument(like a guitar) to an "Instrument" Track. You should record to an AUDIO track. Instrument tracks are a special track for Virtual Instruments(plugin instruments like MiniGrand, EZDrummer, etc) and combine features of a MIDI track and an AUX track into one. Guitar, Bass, Drums, etc should get recorded to an AUDIO track(hoping this is the issue as its such an easy solution)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 9 and MBox Mini 3G towna1667 macOS 0 08-07-2012 02:24 PM
mBox Mini and Pro Tools 10 WernerF Pro Tools 10 8 07-20-2012 11:36 PM
Pro Tools 8 w/Mbox Mini method: Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 04-17-2012 03:18 PM
Pro Tools le 8 / mbox 2 mini Mixer123 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-24-2010 12:53 PM
Pro Tools le 8 / mbox 2 mini Mixer123 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 06-20-2010 11:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com