Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-23-2016, 06:50 AM
princeplanet princeplanet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 104
Default Buffer problem with 2015 macbook pro

Have put a deposit on a used 2015 macbook pro i7 (2.2 ghz) 256 SSD 16 GB DDRRAM. But, upon reading about it's suitability for ProTools use, seems there are CPU issues on low buffer settings. Is there a fix for this? Should I get an older machine? Was thinking of using it with PT 10 HD.

There was another MBP from 2011 ( i7 - 8GB DDR3 - 500gB sata drive)

Will this work just as well? In which way will it be less efficient (apart from SSD speed)?

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2016, 07:18 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,666
Default Re: Buffer problem with 2015 macbook pro

By as much as you can afford....

Generally the higher clock speed is better, and most prefer cores over clock.....

ie a 6 core is better than a 4.

SSD 's are always doable after the purchase.....

I would "Assume" a 2015 MBP would be a safer investment....than a 2011 just b/c of the different architecture of the components.....but I don't specifically know about either of those MBP's
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-23-2016, 08:07 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,517
Default Re: Buffer problem with 2015 macbook pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
By as much as you can afford....

Generally the higher clock speed is better, and most prefer cores over clock.....

ie a 6 core is better than a 4.

SSD 's are always doable after the purchase.....

I would "Assume" a 2015 MBP would be a safer investment....than a 2011 just b/c of the different architecture of the components.....but I don't specifically know about either of those MBP's
But can the newer MBP's be pulled apart for mods? I don't think so.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-23-2016, 08:08 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,666
Default Re: Buffer problem with 2015 macbook pro

Check OWC and or ifixit.com to be sure, idk
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Pro (2015) & Digi002 somefinn FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 10 03-25-2016 03:59 PM
Mid-2015 Macbook 15 inch Fan Noise traveler322 macOS 2 12-09-2015 10:50 PM
Has anyone tried out the 2015 Macbook? KrisHeinold General Discussion 6 09-25-2015 10:21 AM
mbox 2 pro/macbook pro-6085 buffer problem.need serious help goodbyeboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 08-09-2007 09:32 AM
harware buffer size problem MacBook pro Edson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-12-2007 08:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com