Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2013, 12:17 PM
aptmusic9 aptmusic9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Portland
Posts: 45
Default Video Engine Error

"The Video Engine reported an error. More information is in the Video Engine log file."

I also get a dialog telling me to increase the video playback start latency preference. I tried 1, 2, 3, and now 4, now the message is gone but i still get the Video Engine Error almost every time. Where is this log file? I have no issues running this H.264 video file in Cubase.
__________________
Avid Artist Control Eucon 3.1.2
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
i7 3930k 64GB RAM
Cubase 7.5.20
Pro Tools 11.0
RME HDSPe AIO
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-26-2013, 12:33 PM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,037
Default Re: Video Engine Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by aptmusic9 View Post
"The Video Engine reported an error. More information is in the Video Engine log file."

I also get a dialog telling me to increase the video playback start latency preference. I tried 1, 2, 3, and now 4, now the message is gone but i still get the Video Engine Error almost every time. Where is this log file? I have no issues running this H.264 video file in Cubase.
There's a whole other thread about other video issues. It seems the new Avid Engine isn't ready for primetime.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-26-2013, 01:17 PM
aptmusic9 aptmusic9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Portland
Posts: 45
Default Re: Video Engine Error

seems crazy that im essentially losing video functionality upgrading to pt11

wheres the link to the main thread?
__________________
Avid Artist Control Eucon 3.1.2
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
i7 3930k 64GB RAM
Cubase 7.5.20
Pro Tools 11.0
RME HDSPe AIO
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-2013, 01:48 PM
aptmusic9 aptmusic9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Portland
Posts: 45
Default Re: Video Engine Error

I hope this is fixed in PT 11.0.1
__________________
Avid Artist Control Eucon 3.1.2
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
i7 3930k 64GB RAM
Cubase 7.5.20
Pro Tools 11.0
RME HDSPe AIO
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-2013, 02:01 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Video Engine Error

Don't know if it helps, but the new video engine uses your graphics card. You can uncheck that option , which makes it use the cpu, and see if that improves anything.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-26-2016, 02:40 AM
Dan Wake Dan Wake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: europa
Posts: 12
Default Re: Video Engine Error

edit

Last edited by Dan Wake; 06-26-2016 at 03:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-29-2016, 01:49 PM
bifbangpow bifbangpow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 100
Default Re: Video Engine Error

I'm having the exact same issue. What kind of error doesn't even tell you what the error is?... has no one found a fix for this? I score film for christs sake.
__________________
my specs:
Zbook G2
Intel processor core i7 vPro
Windows 7
ProTools 11.3.1
Scarlett Focusrite
+ Saving to External Harddrive

-Strawberry Jam Composer/Sound Design by day
-psychedelic-punk by night.
http://WeAreTheMayCompany.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-10-2017, 01:55 PM
RatherBFishin RatherBFishin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 5
Default Re: Video Engine Error

Was having similar issues as reported above, "The Video Engine reported an error.
More information is in the Video Engine log file."

Entry in the log file mentioned something along the lines of:
"BlackMagic card Genlock set to Freerun."
This was a red herring.

The following procedures eliminated the problem for me:

Ran PT Prefs app to clear preferences.
Ran Disk Utility to fix permissions/verify/repair all disks (including system drive).
Restart.


Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Engine Error (and log?) Farmer Dave Pro Tools 11 2 12-07-2013 09:15 PM
"Waiting for the Video Engine to launch" error mrhood Post - Surround - Video 0 07-25-2013 01:28 AM
Boot Screen "Not Recognized Video Hardware Connected", "video engine failed to init bcrichguitar macOS 3 04-01-2012 09:10 AM
Video engine Bender 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-22-2010 06:30 PM
Where's the Video Engine? admix Post - Surround - Video 4 05-02-2008 04:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com