Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-04-2002, 01:21 PM
Xplosvebob Xplosvebob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: CA
Posts: 85
Default Mike set up for Narrator

Hi my experience is with set up for singing.

I am doing a project where I need to do speaking parts and (hopefully) sound like a FM DJ

I am using a CAD E-200
Would Mic Modeler help or not.

I have put a digirac deesser and compressor inline on the track I am recording the voice to, But i am having trouble with the setings. It seems like I am still getting to many Esses.

The other problem is when I try to set the compressor to the equivilant of a broadcast setting to eliminate room noise, it sounds to choked.

I am waiting for the Waves Platinum
bundle in the mail. should I just wait untill I get those plug ins?

Any tips on this setup would help

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2002, 02:04 PM
Xplosvebob Xplosvebob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: CA
Posts: 85
Default Re: Mike set up for Narrator

Im sorry , i suppose i should have said even if you know of a good article covering this it would help.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2002, 02:13 PM
PDupre PDupre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Cohasset, MA 02025
Posts: 384
Default Re: Mike set up for Narrator

Watch the compression - this will actually bring our the esses.
__________________
www.peterdupre.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-04-2002, 02:24 PM
Xplosvebob Xplosvebob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: CA
Posts: 85
Default Re: Mike set up for Narrator

sorry about the repeat posts but i am working on this and realized I was not very specific.

Inline I have the Digirack Compressor>Deessr>Gate
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-04-2002, 10:46 PM
Xplosvebob Xplosvebob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: CA
Posts: 85
Default Re: Mike set up for Narrator

Thanks PDupre

Do you happen to know of any articles on micing for narration of speech. Im having a hell of a time with room noise. And the gate clips to much.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-05-2002, 11:38 AM
PDupre PDupre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Cohasset, MA 02025
Posts: 384
Default Re: Mike set up for Narrator

You know, a lot of your problems sound like they have to do with the talent. Esses and leveling has a lot to do with mic technique.

It also sounds like you have the mic too hot. What type of narration is this? Is your talent a pro?
__________________
www.peterdupre.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-05-2002, 11:45 AM
iank iank is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Washington,D.C.
Posts: 61
Default Re: Mike set up for Narrator

Tips for recording narration:
Use a good mic, U87 or 414 are good basics.
Use a pop filter about 2 inches from the diaphram.
First try to place the mic at nose level with the mic angled to the mouth and 6 inches away. If you get to much ssss or pppp
move the mic a little to one side(only enough to correct the problem). During recording I try to use no compression,EQ or gating. Most problems can be fixed by mic placement. If you are getting to much "room" noise, back down your pre amp and get the mic closer to the talent. If you must use compression try 2to1 and a threshhold so you only see gain reduction on louder words with hard consanants(sic) fast attack and release.
I usually only EQ after the fact, and almost never add always subtract. I guess what I'm saying is, get your sound at the source,don't always try to turn a knob. Pick a good mic and place it right. You will find it easier to fit it in your mix later. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-06-2002, 12:07 AM
Tex Tiles Tex Tiles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Nashville, TN. USA
Posts: 300
Default Re: Mike set up for Narrator

Short form of microphone is mic, not Mike. Mike is the name of a person. I thought the title meant that some guy named Mike just got set up as a Narrator for something or other.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-06-2002, 12:46 AM
Felix Felix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,017
Default Re: Mike set up for Narrator

aside from physical adjustments,
the Waves C1 gate/comp plug can give more detailed control over de-essing.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-09-2002, 10:05 PM
Rustin Rustin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 21
Default Re: Mike set up for Narrator

Amen Tex,
I see that all the time and it drives me up the wall!

Thats all I got. [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5.1 Mix Narrator Center channel Dialogue Centre or phantom Center? kd_special Post - Surround - Video 5 03-02-2011 02:53 AM
Mike repair Bob Nagy General Discussion 3 02-05-2007 05:10 PM
To Mike at DigiTechSupt midiman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-19-2003 11:58 AM
YES YES YES... THX MIKE!!! mica 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-03-2002 09:53 AM
Mike Pre's Dova 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 08-27-2001 09:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com