Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2019, 09:01 AM
tonedef tonedef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 161
Default Recording/Monitoring Question

Hello, I recently upgraded from PT 11 to PT 2019. I was wondering if it is possible to monitor the input with the record button enabled during playback without the green "I" enabled? When I only have the record button enabled I can not hear anything from the mic during playback unless the "I" is enabled. Just want to know if that is normal behavior.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2019, 10:14 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,140
Default Re: Recording/Monitoring Question

You might be in Input Only Mode.

Try Opt+K Mac or Alt+K Windows to toggle between Auto Input and Input Only.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2019, 10:42 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,427
Default Re: Recording/Monitoring Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
You might be in Input Only Mode.

Try Opt+K Mac or Alt+K Windows to toggle between Auto Input and Input Only.
This won't fix issues if they were as described.

Pro Tools 2019

Track> Set Record Tracks to Input Only

-and-

Tracks > Set Record Tracks to Auto Input

just globally applies what you can do with the per-track input monitoring buttons.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-16-2019, 10:52 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,427
Default Re: Recording/Monitoring Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonedef View Post
Hello, I recently upgraded from PT 11 to PT 2019. I was wondering if it is possible to monitor the input with the record button enabled during playback without the green "I" enabled? When I only have the record button enabled I can not hear anything from the mic during playback unless the "I" is enabled. Just want to know if that is normal behavior.
It's totally normal behavior doing punch in. I am guessing that is what is happening here (maybe unintentionally?). Carefully read the section on input monitoring in the Pro Tools Reference Guide, it's well written (Avid even fixed the past doc bug I reported, but... I just saw another trivial one... does not really affect anything but who else can spot it )

If you have Pro Tools Ultimate (and I doubt it or you would have seen this in Pro Tools 11) you might possibly be getting hung up on additional settings.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 06-16-2019 at 11:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-16-2019, 11:55 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 214
Default Re: Recording/Monitoring Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonedef View Post
Hello, I recently upgraded from PT 11 to PT 2019. I was wondering if it is possible to monitor the input with the record button enabled during playback without the green "I" enabled? When I only have the record button enabled I can not hear anything from the mic during playback unless the "I" is enabled. Just want to know if that is normal behavior.
Totally normal. How else would you punch into an existing track if you can't hear the recorded material.

That's what the Green I button is for, puts the track in input where you only hear the input and not the pre-recorded track.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-16-2019, 04:04 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,140
Default Re: Recording/Monitoring Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
This won't fix issues if they were as described.

Pro Tools 2019

Track> Set Record Tracks to Input Only

-and-

Tracks > Set Record Tracks to Auto Input

just globally applies what you can do with the per-track input monitoring buttons.
I mistook his problem. I thought he wanted to hear playback while he was recording the mic input.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-17-2019, 12:11 PM
tonedef tonedef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 161
Default Re: Recording/Monitoring Question

I just wanted to make sure I am doing it right. I'm used to pressing play and the artist is able to hear their self so they can rehearse just with the record enable button on. Now I see I have to press the green "I" button during playback unless I record the take.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-17-2019, 02:18 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,813
Default Re: Recording/Monitoring Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonedef View Post
I just wanted to make sure I am doing it right. I'm used to pressing play and the artist is able to hear their self so they can rehearse just with the record enable button on. Now I see I have to press the green "I" button during playback unless I record the take.
There are a few ways to approach this, so here's some to consider:
Put an AUX track beside the AUDIO track you are recording. Copy the plugins and sends and set the AUX to the same input. You can mute the AUDIO track if the performer doesn't need to hear it, or mute a section of it(by muting a separated clip). And, you can record to the audio track, even with it muted

Or-Set to Loop Record(and set prefs to automatically create new Playlist for each pass). Add pre and post roll and let it go until the performer gets a good take(its easy enough to delete the other playlists at a later time).

Or-set the AUDIO track to INPUT monitoring and copy some audio(what they want to hear, leading up to the rehearsed part) onto another AUDIO track(which can be deleted later on).

My personal preference is to actually record each pass(you don't need to tell the artist its recording) and if a pass was a "throwaway". just Ctrl-Z to undo the recording(the artist won't know, so they won't care).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-18-2019, 09:08 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 214
Default Re: Recording/Monitoring Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonedef View Post
I just wanted to make sure I am doing it right. I'm used to pressing play and the artist is able to hear their self so they can rehearse just with the record enable button on. Now I see I have to press the green "I" button during playback unless I record the take.
I ALWAYS record. You never know...
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitoring during recording wwilentz Pro Tools 11 0 12-08-2015 10:54 AM
Help! Probably simple Newbie Question re: Monitoring in Headphones while Recording ETThompson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-19-2012 06:39 AM
no monitoring while recording kalos ICON & C|24 6 09-02-2006 12:51 PM
DJs/Turntablists - Recording/Monitoring Question Bezo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-22-2005 12:16 PM
monitoring w/out recording... stickydunkel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-10-2001 08:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com