Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-26-2014, 02:35 PM
Cutlerbri Cutlerbri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 265
Default Re: New UAD Thunderbolt Satellite = MUCH, much better Pro Tools performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Google is your friend.... http://www.uaudio.com/uad-plug-ins.html

So no a UAD Satellite is an outboard (i.e. non internal PCIe card) USD DSP processor it is not an interface. The UAD Apollo Twin, Apollo and Apollo 16 are interfaces that also happen to internally combine the same capability (and more via plugins hosted in the UAD Console) of a UAD Satellite. UAD have very good info on their web site, all your questions should be answered there. And UAD Satellite is not to be confused with Avid Video Satellite.
Thanks, Darryl.
__________________
Brian
See profile page for system details
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-31-2014, 09:53 AM
amazingrugs318 amazingrugs318 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 10
Default Re: New UAD Thunderbolt Satellite = MUCH, much better Pro Tools performance

Super interested in your post Mark. I was using the same Firewire satellite and always running into 9172's and 9173's at low buffer settings. When trying to add an overdub near the end of a session, I would have to put all the UAD plugs in inactive mode to get by.

So I upgraded to a UAD-2 Octo PCIe card, hoping I could work in lower buffer settings more consistently in case I had overdubs to do in a mixed session, but am still running into the errors. Not all the time, but they do happen. As you can see in my sig, I have an external Thunderbolt box that houses both the HD Native and UAD card, so I'm wondering if that could be the problem.

I've tried doing some testing as well, keeping an eye on the total system delay (in Setup->Session) to see if there is a limit I can reach before I start getting the errors. In my heaviest sessions I can be at 9000 samples of delay with UAD plugins, so I can get errors then, but even when I'm at around 3 to 4000 samples of delay it can still happen.

I definitely understand the UAD plugins add a ton of latency, so I'm not looking to do initial tracking with them and work at low buffers all the time, but I was hoping with the PCIe card I could get a little better performance. Its most frustrating when my CPU is at 12 percent, am using 30% of the UAD card, and still getting errors.

Mark, if you could share a little more details of your CPU usage, total system delay, etc and still able to work at these low buffers with no errors would be super helpful for me! Been looking for a post just like yours.
__________________
Mac Pro Cylinder 2013, Mavericks 10.9.4, 10 Core Intel Xeon E5 3.0 GHZ, 256GB Hard Drive, 32GB Ram
Pro Tools HD 11.2.1
HD Native PCIe and and UAD-2 Octo PCIe in Magma ExpressBox 3T
HD I/O 16x16 Analog
UAD Software 7.10
6GB Lacie 2Big Thunderbolt drive for Audio (set up in JBOD mode)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-02-2014, 05:46 PM
tekis tekis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 172
Default Re: New UAD Thunderbolt Satellite = MUCH, much better Pro Tools performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by amazingrugs318 View Post

I definitely understand the UAD plugins add a ton of latency, so I'm not looking to do initial tracking with them and work at low buffers all the time, but I was hoping with the PCIe card I could get a little better performance. Its most frustrating when my CPU is at 12 percent, am using 30% of the UAD card, and still getting errors.
Hello: I used to be in the same boat--12% cpu and 35% on my Octo Pcie. But, I am using Pro Tools HD Native 10.3.9. The cure was meticulously going thru the optimization steps and then trashing prefs at the end. From then on there have been no problems overdubbing with a buffer of "32" or mixing with a "1024" buffer. Hope that helps.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro 12-core 3.33 Westmere , OS 10.12.6, 64 gig of ram, SSD system drive, PT Ultimate 2019.6 HD Native; 2015 MacBook Air, OS 10.14.6, i7, 8gb ram, SSD, PT Ultimate 2019.5

_____________________________________________
Some credits:

http://www.allmusic.com/artist/john-...s/date-asc/100

http://soundbetter.com/profiles/3845-john-siket
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-08-2014, 02:26 PM
Matt Hepworth's Avatar
Matt Hepworth Matt Hepworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 423
Default Re: New UAD Thunderbolt Satellite = MUCH, much better Pro Tools performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by tekis View Post
Hello: I used to be in the same boat--12% cpu and 35% on my Octo Pcie. But, I am using Pro Tools HD Native 10.3.9. The cure was meticulously going thru the optimization steps and then trashing prefs at the end. From then on there have been no problems overdubbing with a buffer of "32" or mixing with a "1024" buffer. Hope that helps.

Are you talking about the Mavericks optimization guide?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-08-2014, 06:41 PM
tekis tekis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 172
Default Re: New UAD Thunderbolt Satellite = MUCH, much better Pro Tools performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Hepworth View Post
Are you talking about the Mavericks optimization guide?
No, Mountain Lion.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro 12-core 3.33 Westmere , OS 10.12.6, 64 gig of ram, SSD system drive, PT Ultimate 2019.6 HD Native; 2015 MacBook Air, OS 10.14.6, i7, 8gb ram, SSD, PT Ultimate 2019.5

_____________________________________________
Some credits:

http://www.allmusic.com/artist/john-...s/date-asc/100

http://soundbetter.com/profiles/3845-john-siket
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-08-2014, 07:15 PM
Touchwood Studios Touchwood Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 868
Default Re: New UAD Thunderbolt Satellite = MUCH, much better Pro Tools performance

HDX with 12 Core 2013 MP 64 GB RAM Mavericks, 2 X Quad Satellite Firewire zero issues here.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-09-2014, 01:47 AM
Matt Hepworth's Avatar
Matt Hepworth Matt Hepworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 423
Default Re: New UAD Thunderbolt Satellite = MUCH, much better Pro Tools performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by tekis View Post
No, Mountain Lion.

Can you post a link please? I've only seen the Mavericks guide.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-11-2014, 02:36 PM
tekis tekis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 172
Default Re: New UAD Thunderbolt Satellite = MUCH, much better Pro Tools performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Hepworth View Post
Can you post a link please? I've only seen the Mavericks guide.
Okay: This thread is about "9173" errors, so I'll post this link (I'm hoping it's similar to 9073):

http://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/...e-9073-errors/

And here's the Mountain Lion optimization guide:

http://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/...mountain-lion/

And Mavericks:

http://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/...0-9-mavericks/

And trashing preferences:

http://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/...s-preferences/

I had the same problems as the OP: My cpu was always peaking out, many times turning red. My cpu ran constantly in the 60-80% area. I always had to render tracks with plugins. I could barely record anything without problems. If I even opened the gui on certain plugins, I'd get big problems. I even considered getting an HDX card thinking that might help.

But about 5 weeks ago, I meticulously followed the 10.8 optimization guide. It turned out that I'd missed a couple of small things. Then, I trashed my prefs. BOOM! It was like I got a new computer. It's been running great ever since! And now, I'm using more tracks and plugins than ever with no problems--even at 88.2khz with the buffer@32! I also "repair permissions" on my system drive once a week and use Disk Warrior on all my drives once a month. But the big payoff was following the optimization carefully then trashing prefs. Good luck!
__________________
2009 Mac Pro 12-core 3.33 Westmere , OS 10.12.6, 64 gig of ram, SSD system drive, PT Ultimate 2019.6 HD Native; 2015 MacBook Air, OS 10.14.6, i7, 8gb ram, SSD, PT Ultimate 2019.5

_____________________________________________
Some credits:

http://www.allmusic.com/artist/john-...s/date-asc/100

http://soundbetter.com/profiles/3845-john-siket
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video satellite le/intensity shuttle thunderbolt sync drift garret Post - Surround - Video 9 02-28-2015 11:28 AM
2013 Mac Pro: Thunderbolt Performance Tips DavoBali macOS 2 07-03-2014 10:58 AM
UAD Satellite Quad latency w/PT 10 and Thunderbolt? anackman Pro Tools 10 1 04-30-2014 04:52 PM
Thunderbolt display affecting performance on my MBP EDurney macOS 4 12-16-2011 05:25 AM
Optimal performance settings on satellite Nathan W. Post - Surround - Video 3 12-30-2009 08:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com