Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2003, 01:59 AM
Jburn34 Jburn34 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 110
Default How to get the edit window to scroll?

How do I get the edit window to scroll along with the song while playing back in 5.1? When I expand the tracks' horizontal lenghts I have to keep pressing the arrow to follow along.

Thanks,
Jeremy
__________________
Matthew 6:33
www.NamesakeRecording.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2003, 03:13 AM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,914
Default Re: How to get the edit window to scroll?

goto operations/scroll options and set it to "page scroll during play back".

(you only can get to that menu when a session is loaded)
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2003, 06:50 AM
Calvin Calvin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lincoln Nebraska
Posts: 1,471
Default Re: How to get the edit window to scroll?

My question is if anybody knows a way to use the scroll button on my mouse to make the edit window scroll up and down when looking for a certain track?
__________________
Calvin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2003, 08:45 AM
silence_of_stone silence_of_stone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,424
Default Re: How to get the edit window to scroll?

Quote:
Originally posted by Calvin:
My question is if anybody knows a way to use the scroll button on my mouse to make the edit window scroll up and down when looking for a certain track?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">I have been looking for this feature too. I am not sure if there is a way. It sure would be nice to be able to use the scroll bar in both the edit and mix windows. The mix window is maddening to me. When you are working with your effects and sends, you cant see the track names, and when you are working with your tracks you cant see the plugs and busses. Pain in the hieney.
Also, I sure wish that digi would make the transport window changable to a vertical configuration to get it out of the way!!!
__________________
Ad astra per aspera...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2003, 02:20 PM
freakofnature freakofnature is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: belgium
Posts: 157
Default Re: How to get the edit window to scroll?

it's as simple as using the "page up" and "page down" buttons on the keyboard! you can even use "home" and "end" to go to the top or bottom of the tracks... [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]

screen resolution has to be at 768/1024 for PT. you can't change grid when in 800/600 for instance.

greettzz.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-10-2003, 03:13 PM
dramsenik dramsenik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 446
Default Re: How to get the edit window to scroll?

Thanks Rail, [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] it was just the tip i was looking for ...
Quote:
There is no "live" scrolling with the scroll bars on the PC version of Pro Tools... the fastest way to find a track is to look in the Hide/Show window and Start+Click on the track name.. it will become selected and scroll into view.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">KaR from OskaR doublebass player
*************(O=)==*
*************EllllB
*************-(_O_)===#
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-10-2003, 03:29 PM
Roy Howell Roy Howell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,635
Default Re: How to get the edit window to scroll?

Quote:
Originally posted by freakofnature:
it's as simple as using the "page up" and "page down" buttons on the keyboard! you can even use "home" and "end" to go to the top or bottom of the tracks...
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">And here I always thought those other buttons were for receptionists... [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] Hey, thanks very much, freakofnature..... great tip. [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
__________________
rh music
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-11-2003, 01:35 AM
rlcowa@work2 rlcowa@work2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Virginia Beach, VA USA
Posts: 207
Default Re: How to get the edit window to scroll?

In the edit window, I almost always turn on the Inserts, Sends and I/O views so I don't need to go to the Mix window nearly as often.

I'd like to know the keyboard shortcut to scroll the Edit window horizontally (left/right) as well as vertically (up/down). Only having the arrows (or thumbnail) in the scollbars is a pain.

Please tell us the secret! I just got my mouse to use the extra buttons for zoom in and out and that really helps!

R
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-11-2003, 01:37 AM
phaseout phaseout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Rocky Mtns, Colorado
Posts: 301
Default Re: How to get the edit window to scroll?

Quote:
Originally posted by silence_of_stone:
When you are working with your effects and sends, you cant see the track names, and when you are working with your tracks you cant see the plugs and busses. Pain in the hieney.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Stone,
What’s your resolution set to? I have a big, gray, unused section of screen surrounding the bottom and right hand side of my mixer! I often wish I could extend it to reach from top to bottom.

-drew
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-11-2003, 01:43 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: How to get the edit window to scroll?

There is no "live" scrolling with the scroll bars on the PC version of Pro Tools... the fastest way to find a track is to look in the Hide/Show window and Start+Click on the track name.. it will become selected and scroll into view.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 7.3 Edit Window Won't Scroll... Metanaut Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-02-2007 05:29 PM
why won't my edit window scroll during playback? Khatru 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-22-2005 07:55 PM
getting edit window to horizontally scroll??? quartermayne 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-23-2002 01:47 AM
How do you scroll the window with the audio on edit window? fsilano 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-01-2001 10:53 AM
Edit Window Auto Scroll??? EricLiebman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-17-2000 10:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com