Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-29-2001, 11:09 AM
nqmike nqmike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 260
Default Adaptec CD Creator Oddity

Anyone else have their CD burner spit out a disc, then take it back in before it tells you its done burning audio?

If anyone has figured out how to get it to stop... please let me know!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-2001, 11:43 AM
Roy Howell Roy Howell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,635
Default Re: Adaptec CD Creator Oddity

nq,

Tell me about it. I never know if Adaptec will 'decide' to work properly or not. Yeah, it does the 'spit it back' thing from time to time on me, too. But, it always waits until it's at 99% complete.

Sorry, no solution at the moment. But, I'm watching for one witcha....

Roy
__________________
rh music
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-29-2001, 12:54 PM
cubasteve cubasteve is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 115
Default Re: Adaptec CD Creator Oddity

Mine does that too.

I try to give Adaptec the benifit of the doubt and presume it's checking the disc to see if it can recognize it when inserted as what it's supposed to be. Only then does it pronounce the disc finished.

A wild presumption of course. It only seems to happen on audio discs, or is that the other way around? I forget.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-29-2001, 07:51 PM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: Adaptec CD Creator Oddity

That is why I switched to using Music Match Jukebox for burning audio to CD. I went through alot of CDs on Adaptec ECDC and yes, it waited until it was 99% done. I don't use it for audio anymore. www.musicmatch.com

Allen
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-29-2001, 08:05 PM
Mark_Knecht Mark_Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,500
Default Re: Adaptec CD Creator Oddity

Hi,
I've never seen this. Granted I don't burn that many CDs, but not once.....

I didn't know I could use Matchbox Allen. Thanks for the pointer. I need to learn how to build the CD image in there though....

Take care,
MArk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2001, 04:14 AM
Roy Howell Roy Howell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,635
Default Re: Adaptec CD Creator Oddity

Allen,

As you know, I have MMJukebox, but have not used the CD burner as yet. It's definitely a neglect thing on my part. It's more fun sometimes to just whine about Adaptec, I guess. But, I shall learn now!


Thanks, Roy

p.s. How are the new mikes doin'? Are you using them more than the old ones?
__________________
rh music
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-30-2001, 10:47 AM
oslpchris oslpchris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 251
Default Re: Adaptec CD Creator Oddity

My Cd Creator works almost flawlessly... hardly ever have buffer problems.. like I used to w/ my old PC. But it does do that deal w/ the opening and closing tray. Doesn't really bother me that much though... I think it's just how it works.

chris
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-30-2001, 12:15 PM
Mark_Knecht Mark_Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,500
Default Re: Adaptec CD Creator Oddity

Mike,
Now maybe I'm understanding better. My CD Creator runs do spit out the CD, but I was thinking you're saying yours spits it out, and then pulls it back in before you can remove the CD-R. That's not what mine does...

Do you have both CD and CD-R drives? I have both. My experience is that it's spitting it out to allow you to test it elsewhere. Maybe if you only have a single drive it pulls it back in for testing?

Mark

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by oslpchris:
My Cd Creator works almost flawlessly... hardly ever have buffer problems.. like I used to w/ my old PC. But it does do that deal w/ the opening and closing tray. Doesn't really bother me that much though... I think it's just how it works.

chris
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-30-2001, 04:23 PM
oslpchris oslpchris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 251
Default Re: Adaptec CD Creator Oddity

No it does just like yours... it's opens the tray and pulls it right back in. I'm pretty sure they all do that. I only use one cd drive on my system. Which means I can't burn from one disk to another w/o copying to my hard drive first but I never have any problems w/ it. But YES! it does open the tray and close it right away... then it puts up the "CD Created Successfully" green text. Hope that helps

chris
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-30-2001, 05:08 PM
nqmike nqmike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 260
Default Re: Adaptec CD Creator Oddity

It would be nice if there was I way I could diable this feature. Here's why

As dumb as it may seem- my CPU is in a cabinet. If i have the door closed when it spits out the disc, the CD tray forces the door open. Its quite taxing on the motor. I'm afraid it might push my cabinet door one too many times [img]images/icons/frown.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sonic DVD Creator and TDM mBoxLuvr Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-09-2003 12:37 PM
Mp3 Mac Pane- Creator Codes ProductionEngelads 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-17-2002 02:36 PM
pro tools session folders and adaptec easy cd creator moe green 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-13-2001 09:43 PM
MP3 type and creator not working PROPERLY jimlongo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-07-2001 11:19 AM
Editing MP3 creator? voiceoverguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-13-2001 01:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com