Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-10-2005, 01:10 PM
fabpab fabpab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 347
Default Tweaking XP For 002R

Hey guys..
i need to tweak XP for my machine.. does anyone have any information about what XP NEEDS to run?
When i look in System configuration utilaty.. i have about 16 prosesses running.. which is good..
but there seems to be lots of other crap still running.. stuff that doesnt seem to be needed..
i could just disbale them all but im sure this would screw up the system..
what IS needed?

cheers people..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-10-2005, 01:36 PM
crookedtourguy crookedtourguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Akron area, Ohio USA
Posts: 206
Default Re: Tweaking XP For 002R

Go here, www.MusicXP.net, they have a lot of good tweaking tips at this site. They will show you how to get into your Services page so you can stop/disable all those other things that run in the background that you don't need.
If you do disable something you really do need, there is a way to do a repair to your Windows XP install if you got the MS Windows XP Home or Pro Disc with your computer. The details of how to do this can be found at www.worldstart.com look in their Tips Section, search for the 'Windows XP Repair Install' tip.
I have used this method twice (once on my DAW and once on this machine here) in the past, it is not a fresh install but fixs the XP install to run like it did when you first installed it (which means you'll have to go get the updates again, too) but it leaves all else 'as is' and just fixes what is broken in XP ... but really, IT WORKS! ... saved me a ton of time ... so, go to worldstart, print out the instructions and keep 'em around for just in case.
__________________
were humans involved ... if so, I can believe almost anything!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-11-2005, 06:02 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,456
Default Re: Tweaking XP For 002R

MusicXP.net is excellent, but rather than using the repair facility of XP, just use Norton Ghost before you do the tweaks, install or uninstall software or basically do anything to your computer that you will regret if it doesn't work. Ghost is the tinkerers best friend

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-11-2005, 06:11 PM
superpenguin79 superpenguin79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 4,783
Default Re: Tweaking XP For 002R

I agree with The Weed on this one. Always good to have a system backup image before you start tweaking even though musicxp.net is awesome for setting things up. Goodluck
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-13-2005, 05:45 PM
crookedtourguy crookedtourguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Akron area, Ohio USA
Posts: 206
Default Re: Tweaking XP For 002R

Personally, I think back-ups are an excellent idea, and if you don't do 'em before you go and try something you don't have a lot of experience with is foolish at best, SO, Always back up before tweaking ... always, Always, great advice.
I have never used Norton Ghost, but it is highly recommended by digidesign and have read many a "Boy, has Ghost saved me this time, again!" stories. So If you can get it, also a great idea, but check out the XP repair instructions, it has saved me and a few of my friends butts after I showed it to them, and as I said, It has helped me with both my DAW and my Net machine. Just a suggestion, and I wish www.blackviper.com site was still up, I thought He had one of the best for explaining some of the ins and outs of XP services.
__________________
were humans involved ... if so, I can believe almost anything!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-13-2005, 06:38 PM
superpenguin79 superpenguin79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 4,783
Default Re: Tweaking XP For 002R

black viper got taken down?? man, that was one of the best sites in a long time for XP stuff... hadn't needed to ref. it for a while... *shrugs*
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-14-2005, 05:18 PM
crookedtourguy crookedtourguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Akron area, Ohio USA
Posts: 206
Default Re: Tweaking XP For 002R

Yeah ... I just keep getting 'This site is under construction' ... Good site, hope he comes back.
__________________
were humans involved ... if so, I can believe almost anything!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tweaking Bigpit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-19-2008 01:51 PM
Tweaking your Ram stevedresser83 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-09-2008 02:43 PM
Tweaking xp for protools djkiller Tips & Tricks 2 03-31-2005 10:10 PM
xp tweaking pauleddy2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-03-2002 09:49 AM
system tweaking??? frutje 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-19-2000 02:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com