Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-01-2015, 07:10 AM

Default Getting started need help putting together a complete music production setup

What's up guys

Completely new to avid, I've never worked with protools before ever.
I'm very interested in investing in a new music production package for my next house that I will be moving into within the next few months. I have some experience working with the free version of fl studio on a vista pc a few years back with no external instruments/or equipment so I do understand some what of how a music software program operates.

I have no computer system as of right now but definitely shopping around. My goal is to have the hardware/software needed to complete music production from scratch to finish (on a reasonable budget, but with the best quality possible) and be ready for submission to recording artists for business.

My financial goal for this project is to stay under $3000 total, including computer system, all software requirements, external hardrive(s), external speakers & or headphones, wires/cables, soundboard, external drum kit, external keyboard, and anything else that I will need in order to complete this project.

My ruff idea of the studio I'm looking for is, possibly a
mac or pc computer
with a great but affordable version of protools
an external drum machine, and mixer with a external keyboard/piano
external hard drive to handle the load of play back etc...
Headphones, and/or external studio speakers
all wires/cables required to tie everything together