Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2010, 05:50 PM
AdamPT8 AdamPT8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 393
Default Auto Input monitoring / Input only monitoring - Alt+K

Ok, I know there are a lot of threads on this, I've read the pro tools manual and stuff online regarding this but I still can't figure it out.

It seems to me that whether input only monitoring is selected (green light lit up) or not, exactly the same happens...

I can only monitor by having the track in record ready so therefore I can't monitor bass whilst recording drums without recording the bass as well, for instance.

It seems so stupid that Pro Tools have done this.

Pro Tools LE 8 by the way.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2010, 06:40 PM
Larold Larold is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 217
Default Re: Auto Input monitoring / Input only monitoring - Alt+K

You have to have an HD rig for that to work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2010, 06:42 PM
Larold Larold is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 217
Default Re: Auto Input monitoring / Input only monitoring - Alt+K

Actually, I think you could put the bass in an AUX fader and hear it the way you want....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2010, 04:37 AM
AdamPT8 AdamPT8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 393
Default Re: Auto Input monitoring / Input only monitoring - Alt+K

So stupid having to do that though, it is a feature that is present on all analogue mixers and every other DAW, why Pro Tools have chose not to do it is beyond me.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-09-2010, 08:28 AM
bennym bennym is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: new york city
Posts: 56
Default Re: Auto Input monitoring / Input only monitoring - Alt+K

Actually, the point is that it allows you to listen to a record enabled track whilst playing the session, but not recording, since it normally would "mute" that track if you didn't go into record.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-09-2010, 10:50 AM
msawitzke msawitzke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 113
Default Re: Auto Input monitoring / Input only monitoring - Alt+K

The Aux solution works. You can monitor a track input while playing back. I use this for talkback all the time. It'd be nice for Digi to add the input monitoring HD has, but I doubt it'll happen any time soon, if ever.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto input/input only monitoring failing in PTLE 8.0.4 miketeachesclass 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-11-2012 08:48 AM
Auto Input Monitoring - how to visually tell it's on? awritersparadise Pro Tools 9 3 10-20-2011 03:10 PM
auto input monitoring sometimes doesn't work jntracks Pro Tools Software (Win) 3 04-18-2011 03:06 PM
auto input monitoring issue jntracks Pro Tools Software (Win) 10 02-07-2011 05:37 AM
Auto Input Monitoring? Punching GrahamCA 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 02-28-2002 04:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com