Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2002, 05:01 PM
Emile Goyette Emile Goyette is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 14
Default Help! In 5 years, never seen this error

An assertion occurred in "Sys_FileLoc.cpp", line 57 while attempting to auto backup session

What does that mean?

Plus I can't save neither save as or as a copy.

I oppened an earlyer baclup file of 4 days ago: same results.

I've been a PT user for 5 years and I've never seen or heard of this.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

System info:
PT TDM 5.1.1 on OS 9.1 running on a
PPC 9600 350MHz 224MB ram
d24 + 3 DSP farm cards

Emile Goyette
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2002, 05:54 AM
T-LAY T-LAY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Germany
Posts: 29
Default Re: Help! In 5 years, never seen this error

"assertion..., line..." - your HD could be defective.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2002, 06:53 AM
putney putney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Missouri
Posts: 354
Default Re: Help! In 5 years, never seen this error

I think I saw yhis once.

Try creating a new session and import the tracks from the old.

Not a perfect solution, but it might get you working again.

-putney
__________________
"What's the best mic under $100."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-14-2002, 07:04 PM
Danny Caccavo Danny Caccavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,279
Default Re: Help! In 5 years, never seen this error

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Emile Goyette:
An assertion occurred in "Sys_FileLoc.cpp", line 57 while attempting to auto backup session

What does that mean?

Plus I can't save neither save as or as a copy.

I oppened an earlyer baclup file of 4 days ago: same results.

I've been a PT user for 5 years and I've never seen or heard of this.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

System info:
PT TDM 5.1.1 on OS 9.1 running on a
PPC 9600 350MHz 224MB ram
d24 + 3 DSP farm cards

Emile Goyette
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


We had this problem recently - turns out there's some sort of bug when you import tracks, including a video track. Try importing all tracks, minus the video track (if there is one) into a fresh session.

It's a bug. You should report this. Prior to 5.1, you'd crash, or get some non-specific error - the "assertion" is a way to help track these down.

DC

DC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-15-2002, 06:24 AM
vze24x2x vze24x2x is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York City (Manhattan)
Posts: 367
Default Re: Help! In 5 years, never seen this error

I had This problem Recently, Had a suspect Hard drive, which I replaced. also discovered the DAE app was corrupt. after addressing both issues, problem went away.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-16-2002, 09:36 AM
Doug Ring Doug Ring is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Posts: 767
Default Re: Help! In 5 years, never seen this error

Aha! I'm not alone!

This has been happening to me recently when I use gain or normalise from Audiosuite.

vze24x2x, could you be more specific about what you did with the DAE, please?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-16-2002, 09:54 AM
mattm mattm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 733
Default Re: Help! In 5 years, never seen this error

crazy! there's a thread in the PT LE for Windows 001 forum with the same problem. i've never seen this error (touch wood), just a comment but you might wanna watch it in case there are any developments... [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

~matt
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-16-2002, 10:10 AM
adam_w1 adam_w1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 203
Default Re: Help! In 5 years, never seen this error

.cpp ? That sounds like a C++ source code file. Who let the bugs out ?!
__________________
life is too short for bad mixes.
online mixing
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-16-2002, 10:17 AM
mattm mattm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 733
Default Re: Help! In 5 years, never seen this error

aol? perhaps? no? maybe i don't wanna know [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-17-2002, 12:24 AM
Krusty Krusty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 118
Default Re: Help! In 5 years, never seen this error

Ver y oftern, these are hard drive errors.. whther on your system or audio drives.

1-try importing the tracks into a new session ON A DIFFERENT DRIVE - even if its your system drive.

2-drag and drop a new copy of DAE from the PT CD.

3-check you drives with Norton, TechTool, etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PTLE 5 digi 001 error 9128 after years of stability?? geetar777 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-05-2007 05:49 PM
What now , after all these years ...??? gweber 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 23 05-31-2007 10:56 AM
5 Years JMS40 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-28-2005 06:05 PM
In maybe 3 or 5 years Lalaman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 12-09-2003 08:16 AM
24/96 Two Years away? Mark Jiaras Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 21 12-05-2000 04:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com