Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2002, 05:01 AM
Rythym Stick Rythym Stick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London
Posts: 152
Default Mixer in new HD system

Has the mixer been revamped or will the new system sound like the dithered mixer in the Mix systems???
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2002, 09:59 AM
Chris Townsend Chris Townsend is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 792
Default Re: Mixer in new HD system

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Rythym Stick:
Has the mixer been revamped or will the new system sound like the dithered mixer in the Mix systems???<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes. The dither mixer in ProTools HD now uses uncorrelated dither for all truncation stages, and has a few other minor tweaks. Mainly what this means to users is that when multiple dither sources (e.g. from busses) are mixed together the dither noise floor won't be as high. Summing two correlated dither sources results in a 6dB increase in noise floor, where as summing two uncorrelated dither sources results in a 3dB increase.
__________________
Chris Townsend
Guitar Products Architect
Digidesign, A Division of Avid, Inc.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2002, 10:41 AM
ashdot ashdot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel
Posts: 206
Default Re: Mixer in new HD system

Chris,

Thanks for replying, it's so rare that we get to have a dialog about the PT mixer with you guys.

1. Do you think that the new mixer will (subjectively, of course...) sound better?
2. Will it answer the folks who say that mixing within Protools sounds inferior comparing to mixing the same PT tracks on a dedicated mixer?
3. Finally, will we benefit from ther new mixer using PT 5.3 on Mix farms?

Looking forward to your reply!

Izhar
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2002, 10:59 AM
ashdot ashdot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel
Posts: 206
Default Re: Mixer in new HD system

Chris,

Thanks for replying, it's so rare that we get to have a dialog about the PT mixer with you guys.

1. Do you think that the new mixer will (subjectively, of course...) sound better?
2. Will it answer the folks who say that mixing within Protools sounds inferior comparing to mixing the same PT tracks on a dedicated mixer?
3. Finally, will we benefit from ther new mixer using PT 5.3 on Mix farms?

Looking forward to your reply!

Izhar
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-17-2002, 11:34 AM
Chris Townsend Chris Townsend is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 792
Default Re: Mixer in new HD system

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by ashdot:
Chris,

Thanks for replying, it's so rare that we get to have a dialog about the PT mixer with you guys.

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I don't think so. I've been postly a lot lately. Check out the level setting thread if you dare.

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>
1. Do you think that the new mixer will (subjectively, of course...) sound better?
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Possibly, for certain large sessions with lots of busses and post fader sends, but remember we are talking about dither levels that are in the range of -140dB. Your converter noise floor is in the -110 to -120dB range, so it would need to be a very large session for the dither to add up to more than the converter noise floor. This was possible with the older dithered mixer, but I would say it is pratically impossible with the new mixer.

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>
2. Will it answer the folks who say that mixing within Protools sounds inferior comparing to mixing the same PT tracks on a dedicated mixer?
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Well, I can't speak for other people, cause I'm not sure what they'll think. In my opinion the older dithered mixer was also very good, and many users think it makes mixing in PT sound great. I guess we'll need to wait and see what they think of the new mixer and the system as a whole.

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>
3. Finally, will we benefit from ther new mixer using PT 5.3 on Mix farms?
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Probably, but I can't guarentee that.
__________________
Chris Townsend
Guitar Products Architect
Digidesign, A Division of Avid, Inc.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-17-2002, 11:53 AM
ashdot ashdot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel
Posts: 206
Default Re: Mixer in new HD system

Thanks Chris!

Izhar [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-18-2002, 12:08 AM
Kev Kev is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Melbourne,Vic, Aust
Posts: 873
Default Re: Mixer in new HD system

I want to second that ,

Thanks Chris!

He has been a busy amoung these pages and in particular one thread that is only just begining to slow down. That thread at times did get rather tough but he hung in there and many of us do appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stereo Dither Mixer for HD Native System sws2h macOS 1 07-25-2012 08:17 AM
mixer for 002 system columbo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-09-2006 08:24 AM
Surround mixer crashes D24 6.4.1 cs4 system Ed Douglas Post - Surround - Video 1 11-18-2005 08:15 AM
connecting an analog mixer to an HD system? PTgeek911 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-02-2005 06:21 AM
HD system with no mixer cc1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 07-26-2004 02:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com