Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-09-2014, 02:19 AM

Default Pro tools 8, pentium 4 3ghz, too low spec?

Hi,

I am quite new to using pro tools, managed to borrow a copy off my cousin and just getting to grips I with it.. My only real problem is the low spec of my computer, all I want it for is to demo ideas, guitar and drum programming. But it's getting lagy when I use ezdrummer, any less CPU heavy plugins people know of?. I'm recording guitar straight in with pedals so no need for plugins on those tracks. Am I severely underpowered or should I try mucking around with buffer speed etc? Any one else using pro tools on such an old computer?

Thankyou

William
Old 09-09-2014, 03:56 AM

Default Re: Pro tools 8, pentium 4 3ghz, too low spec?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Culturebunkerrecordings View Post
Hi,

I am quite new to using pro tools, managed to borrow a copy off my cousin and just getting to grips I with it.. My only real problem is the low spec of my computer, all I want it for is to demo ideas, guitar and drum programming. But it's getting lagy when I use ezdrummer, any less CPU heavy plugins people know of?. I'm recording guitar straight in with pedals so no need for plugins on those tracks. Am I severely underpowered or should I try mucking around with buffer speed etc? Any one else using pro tools on such an old computer?

Thankyou

William
First off let's all hope you're doing what you're doing legally - is he loaning you his Avid interface or iLok so you can use PT? Only one user is allowed to use one copy of PT at a time.