Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-06-2013, 05:09 PM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,552
Default Dynamic Transport is your friend. Use it!!

I often wonder why no one talks about the Dynamic transport. I could talk about it's uses, but how about we let Phil tell us how it's done!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pguF2PA3wuI
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-07-2013, 12:07 PM
Philthy Philthy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: Dynamic Transport is your friend. Use it!!

watched the video, can't see how that is useful at all. He's in merge mode with midi the whole time and everything he did could be done just as easily without "dynamic transport." Not seeing the point.
__________________
Phil Mann
Silk City Music Factory - CT Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2013, 01:48 PM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,552
Default Re: Dynamic Transport is your friend. Use it!!

It's especially useful in post production for cutting atmos.

I use it all the time when programming drums with SD2. Way faster than any other way I have found.

Here is another article for ya.

http://goprotools.com/blog/?p=293
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-07-2013, 05:02 PM
BGMusic BGMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 433
Default Re: Dynamic Transport is your friend. Use it!!

similar to the way that logic works.
__________________
PT 10.3.10, 12.4, Logic Pro 9.1.8 Logic Pro X 10.1, Ableton Live 9, Studio One 3.x DP 9 Sibelius 8.5 OS 10.8.5 Mac Mini with Lion Server 2.0ghz quad I7 16 gbs ram, UAD Apollo Twin . PT Mix Plus PT 6.4.1 TDM Mac OS 10.3.9 G4 450 mhz 1 gb ram, Digi 882/20. And a bunch of hard drives.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-08-2013, 04:42 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Dynamic Transport is your friend. Use it!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philthy View Post
watched the video, can't see how that is useful at all. He's in merge mode with midi the whole time and everything he did could be done just as easily without "dynamic transport." Not seeing the point.
The Play Start Marker sets this feature apart from other workflows, and there's quite a few keyboard shortcuts that lets you relocate it during playback, or in stop.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-08-2013, 01:12 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,652
Default Re: Dynamic Transport is your friend. Use it!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris75 View Post
I often wonder why no one talks about the Dynamic transport. I could talk about it's uses, but how about we let Phil tell us how it's done!
Two things I'm miss in that video I miss Phil and I miss Velvet
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-08-2013, 04:20 PM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,552
Default Re: Dynamic Transport is your friend. Use it!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Two things I'm miss in that video I miss Phil and I miss Velvet
+1!!!
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dynamic transport and automation Stig Eliassen ICON & C|24 3 12-21-2010 08:02 AM
Anyone Using the Dynamic Transport? Tom Hartman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 11-03-2010 09:37 PM
Dynamic transport and automation Stig Eliassen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-22-2010 06:52 PM
Dynamic Transport Question BlackOm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-29-2008 06:12 AM
Dynamic Transport cheekypaul Tips & Tricks 6 10-16-2007 03:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com