Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-02-2018, 08:48 AM

Default Upgrading To HD

Hello! I'm a pro tools user running 12, windows 10, & with the eleven rack. So, ive decided too upgrade to hd, but the one thing thats stopping me is loosing my plugins. i know hd gives me more bang for my buck but i realllly dont wanna loose a good portion of my plugins & have to repurchase them if i even can, but If i do upgrade, i thought of getting the hd native interface because its simple to start out with, but anyways what do you guys think, what equipment do u recommend to start with for hd when u upgrade? besides the interface of course unless you have better recommendations! Also, is it worth loosing the non hd plugins when you upgrade or how many do you actually loose? Any help is much appreciated. 🤙

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
Old 01-02-2018, 09:32 AM

Default Re: Upgrading To HD

You don't lose your non-DSP plugins in HD.
HD gives you AAX and AAX DSP plugins.
You get more not less.

Pro Tools HD 2019.12 | HD Native PCIe & HD Native Thunderbolt | Lynx Aurora 16 HD | HD I/O | Digi 192 | 2010 Mac Pro 12 Core 3.46ghz | macOS Mojave 10.14.4 | 48 gigs RAM | Tascam DM3200 | Crane Song Avocet II | Antelope Isochrone OCX | Universal Audio Quad & Duo | Waves Mercury + Studio Classics v10 & Abbey Road Collection
Old 01-02-2018, 09:42 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 29CountsNY View Post
You don't lose your non-DSP plugins in HD.
HD gives you AAX and AAX DSP plugins.
You get more not less.