Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-20-2000, 12:09 PM
Kickin.da.speaker Kickin.da.speaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 2,081
Default Dual processors, current OS, current apps and the future.

OK, a lot of you are wondering about those new beasts from Apple, wether you're disappointed that 2x500 doesn't look as impressive as 1 Giga, or just wondering about how to fully exploit the engines.

Here's the state of things.

Currently, OS 9 totally support MP boards, so there's no need to wait for OS-X to fully enjoy the power of your dual G4. On the other hand, what you'll need is a redesigned software that can work on MP, So that's in Digi's hand.

What OS-X will bring us when it is released in August 2004 , is full symetrical multi processing. What that means is applications won't need to be MP designed to fully enojy the power of a multi processor.

So the question now would be: Is digi going to update Digi001 so it's MP compatible on OS 9, or are they just going to wait for OS-X? IMO that's a tough bet, not being able to know when OS-X is really going to hit the streets.

Digi's opinion?
__________________
David.

6am eternal
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-20-2000, 03:20 PM
haze haze is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: san ramon, ca usa
Posts: 730
Default Re: Dual processors, current OS, current apps and the future.

Hell! Digi hasn't even figured out a way to take advantage of velocity engine in the G4.
Considering how many of us bought G4s to run the Digi, this is a crime.

I wouldn't hold my breath on an update for the multi-processor beasts anytime soon. Let's see the G4 has been out for almost a year now, and no Alti-vec updated in sight.

haze
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-20-2000, 05:16 PM
trevorM trevorM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Sydney,NSW,Australia
Posts: 49
Default Re: Dual processors, current OS, current apps and the future.

Good point haze.
I dont think it is worth getting rid of your system and changing to dual just yet. And i wouln't be surprised if it takes justa little while indeed till DIGI can take advantage of dual processors.
__________________
[b]TrevorM[b]
[email]trevor_mckenna@hotmail.com[email]
url=http://i.am/trevorM]i.am/trevorM[/url]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-20-2000, 06:01 PM
Matt_Bauer Matt_Bauer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Melbourne, VIC, Australia
Posts: 108
Default Re: Dual processors, current OS, current apps and the future.

Don't get me wrong, The Single Processor G4-450 that I use belongs to work.

I'm looking to buy the Dual Processor machine personally, for other work.

I figures I can get the Dual Processor for only $500 (Australian) extra, and it comes with a 30gb instead of 20gb HDD.

So why not. Sure it can only utilize one processor for now. But in 6-months, 12 months, or whenever DIGI pull their fingers out. I'll have a better machine without having to upgrade my hardware again.

This is my theory anyway.

Seeya, Matt.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-20-2000, 08:15 PM
fjmoon fjmoon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 59
Default Re: Dual processors, current OS, current apps and the future.

OSX likely to come out before LE is dual processor supported, so, probably only 6 months down the line.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-20-2000, 08:44 PM
accession accession is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: On the road again... (Australia)
Posts: 1,319
Default Re: Dual processors, current OS, current apps and the future.

"2x500MHz"

It had to happen, didn't it!

What's the story with upgrading to the new dual-processor board from the previous model (ie. single processor).

Costs, etc.

Cheers,

Phil
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-20-2000, 09:26 PM
Kickin.da.speaker Kickin.da.speaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 2,081
Default Re: Dual processors, current OS, current apps and the future.

>accession: http://www.xlr8.com/ (and scroll down!)

>others:
Be careful, by buying a machine that will be ready without a need for an upgrade when OS-X comes, out, you risk to end up with a machine that's obsolete anyway when OS-X comes out, which might well be wayyyy later than you think [rumors are talking about a beta version for February 2001!!!].

Buy what you need, now. No less, but no more.
__________________
David.

6am eternal
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-21-2000, 01:33 AM
Matt_Bauer Matt_Bauer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Melbourne, VIC, Australia
Posts: 108
Default Re: Dual processors, current OS, current apps and the future.

I have a question or two.
Maybe Tech. Support can help.

At work here I'm using Digi with a G4-450,
256MB Ram, OS 8.6, Blah, blah, blah.

I'm about to buy a G4 Dual Processor 450.
Now I realise that Pro-Tools LE probably won't take advantage of the second processor until a software update has been written.

I did want to know however, if there are going to be any conflicts that may occur.

I'm assuming Pro-tools will simply see it as a single processor machine. Is this correct?

As I'm going to be using this for a very hectic work schedule, I can't afford to have any hassles.

TECH SUPPORT, Please, Please, Please reply as I'm about to place my order today.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help.

Seeya, Matt.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-21-2000, 01:48 AM
Kickin.da.speaker Kickin.da.speaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 2,081
Default Re: Dual processors, current OS, current apps and the future.

I'm not tech support, but:

You're correct, the software will use the OS regardless of how many processors the OS is using. So you 'should' be able to use PTLE without any trouble, only not exploiting fully the two processors untill
a) a digi soft update
b) OS-X
__________________
David.

6am eternal
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-21-2000, 08:26 AM
fjmoon fjmoon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 59
Default Re: Dual processors, current OS, current apps and the future.

Kickindaspeaker's right. Here's a very critical cnet article which seems to hit the Hz on the head: http://news.cnet.com/news/0-1006-200...t.cn.1.lthd.ne
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there any way to leverage the original MBox into my current or future system? LSW FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 7 11-05-2013 07:37 PM
Current AAX PI's in the future PT Oblivion777 AAX Plug-ins 18 08-03-2012 01:58 PM
Current Dual 1.8 G5's and 001 LoopooL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-30-2004 10:29 AM
any current or future plans for firewire 001 type device? plazonby 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 11-28-2001 11:16 AM
Any current or future plans for firewire 001? plazonby 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-20-2001 04:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com