Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2020, 06:28 AM
superd superd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Ireland
Posts: 7
Default Fasttrack Pro Bitrate / Format

Folks,

Im trying to stream to facebook via my fast track pro 2 sound card, and the audio is pretty bad. Ive been advised to drop the bitrate in the midi settings to 2500hz, however on my macbook the lowest i can go is 8000hz. Is there any way to drop the bitrate lower then 8000hz?
And maybe a question for apple techies rather than m-audio.. cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-22-2020, 08:19 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,218
Default Re: Fasttrack Pro Bitrate / Format

It sounds like you’re talking about sample rate, not bit rate. A 2.5kHz sample rate would sound very muddy with no presence or definition. I suggest you leave the interface sample rate at one of its hardware supported rates (ie 44.1, 48) and go find the video and audio encoder settings where you can find the compressed bitrates for both video and audio. I don’t use it but I expect it’s somewhere in the Facebook live streaming settings.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-04-2020, 08:27 AM
superd superd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Ireland
Posts: 7
Default Re: Fasttrack Pro Bitrate / Format

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
It sounds like you’re talking about sample rate, not bit rate. A 2.5kHz sample rate would sound very muddy with no presence or definition. I suggest you leave the interface sample rate at one of its hardware supported rates (ie 44.1, 48) and go find the video and audio encoder settings where you can find the compressed bitrates for both video and audio. I don’t use it but I expect it’s somewhere in the Facebook live streaming settings.
Thanks James, apologies Im only seeing your response now, much appreciated. Ill check that out, but i believe theres very little config available on FB Stream.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-12-2020, 01:40 PM
superd superd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Ireland
Posts: 7
Default Re: Fasttrack Pro Bitrate / Format

Guys, ive been advised to adjust the buffer size on mac / fasttrack pro. Is that possible? I cant see it in audio settings.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2020, 07:47 AM
superd superd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Ireland
Posts: 7
Default Re: Fasttrack Pro Bitrate / Format

For anyone that might encounter the same issues, i changed the sample depth in the m-audio settings in preferences from 24 -> 16, sounds perfect.
Thanks all.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-13-2020, 11:22 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,218
Default Re: Fasttrack Pro Bitrate / Format

__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What bitrate when using Transfuser Southsidemusic Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 02-02-2012 06:07 AM
Bitrate question syed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 08-04-2007 02:21 AM
What bitrate do i set my Digi002R to? KDK Twelve 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-01-2005 10:57 AM
MP3 bitrate and Tag Type jlnelson19 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-12-2004 05:46 PM
AES output bitrate on 888/24 wiz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 07-11-2000 11:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com