Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2020, 08:38 AM
metalmick metalmick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 16
Default Win 10 won't switch between PC & MBox 3 clock.

I use PT 3 on Win 10 and use my MBox as both my recording interface and my general PC soundcard. I have just upgraded my MBox 2 to an MBox 3 and with the MB 2 when I switched on Pro Tools the audio worked fine and then when I switched off Pro Tools the pc recognised the change and altered the clock back so I could play music on media player or play You Tube videos etc with no problems. It won't do this with the MBox 3, once I've used PT and closed it down the pc won't switch back to internal clock and allow me to play pc audio through the MBox.

Ok, I've figured out I can change it in the MBox 3 control panel from 48000 to 41000. So I can either leave it on 41 or switch to 48 when I use PT.

Last edited by metalmick; 05-13-2020 at 09:13 AM. Reason: Figured out I can change it in the MBox 3 control panel..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-13-2020, 08:41 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,787
Default Re: Win 10 won't switch between PC & MBox 3 clock.

Do not use your audio I/O box for system sound.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-13-2020, 08:51 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,728
Default Re: Win 10 won't switch between PC & MBox 3 clock.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
Do not use your audio I/O box for system sound.
This^^^ has been the recommended setup for Windows users for as long as I can remember(going back to PT6 anyway). Now if you want all sound to come out of a single set of speakers, there are several ways to do that, such as:

1-(the cheap way) get a tiny mixer(Behringer, Mackie, Alto) that has at least 2 stereo inputs. Outputs from your interface and computer sound card plug into the mixer and the mixer feeds the speakers(under $50). Advantage: cheap and you can hear both sources together.

2-(the right way) get a monitor/source switcher(Presonus Monitor station, Mackie Big Knob, Audient Nero, etc). Advantage; adds talk-back and allows for several sets of speakers, and may allow for a digital connection(but does cost more). I run the optical SPDIF out of my PC and it sounds equal to my interface, where the mini TRS output of the computer sounds crappy.

For a home studio, the cheap mixer is just fine. For a studio with paying clients, go the "pro" route
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rosetta clock vs. MBox 2 Pro clock zionbrian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-15-2010 09:39 PM
Switch from Mbox brentrains Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 11-06-2009 02:38 PM
Should I switch to Mbox 2? Seitz333 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-05-2005 12:44 PM
Switch Mac Mbox to Windows - and then switch back bluesigns 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-07-2004 09:50 AM
Switch internal clock after session is started JKROUGHS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-26-2002 06:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com