Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > The Drum Room

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2014, 10:48 AM
AlphabetZebra AlphabetZebra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: TEXAS!
Posts: 29
Default Recording a Cajon

I just got my AKG 112 for the bass instruments! This is a fantastic help for something like a cajon (the box drum for those who don't know).

I stick my bass mic right over the sound hole on the back of the cajon, an Shure/58 right up close to the player's hands on the front and use my condenser mic (AKG perception 220) as a room mic for depth.

I was asked if this was overkill and felt like it was actually terrifically appropriate. One mic for bass, one mic for the "snare" taps and pops of the front and a room mic because I think it makes the sound 10x more complete and full of life. It's undeniably non-computer generated and that's what I want it to sound like.

Anyway, just thought I would share. It sounds great to me, just a little EQ and compression all around and a slight reverb on the room mic. Very nice!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2014, 11:14 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,475
Default Re: Recording a Cajon

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphabetZebra View Post
I just got my AKG 112 for the bass instruments! This is a fantastic help for something like a cajon (the box drum for those who don't know).

I stick my bass mic right over the sound hole on the back of the cajon, an Shure/58 right up close to the player's hands on the front and use my condenser mic (AKG perception 220) as a room mic for depth.

I was asked if this was overkill and felt like it was actually terrifically appropriate. One mic for bass, one mic for the "snare" taps and pops of the front and a room mic because I think it makes the sound 10x more complete and full of life. It's undeniably non-computer generated and that's what I want it to sound like.

Anyway, just thought I would share. It sounds great to me, just a little EQ and compression all around and a slight reverb on the room mic. Very nice!
Hi,

Thats the best way to give yourself options and if one mic doesn't sound right or doesn't add anything then knock it out and use what does sound good. i assume the mics are on separate tracks!!


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2014, 01:22 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,629
Default Re: Recording a Cajon

Not far off of my method either. Beta 52 or D6 a foot from the hole and a 57 or small condenser a foot from the hands. I skip the room mic and just add a touch of room 'verb
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2014, 01:53 AM
guatamas guatamas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 645
Default Re: Recording a Cajon

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Not far off of my method either
Audix D6 for Bass
SM57 or Audix i5 for "snap" is what we do at our church
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2014, 12:27 PM
AlphabetZebra AlphabetZebra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: TEXAS!
Posts: 29
Default Re: Recording a Cajon

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Hi,

Thats the best way to give yourself options and if one mic doesn't sound right or doesn't add anything then knock it out and use what does sound good. i assume the mics are on separate tracks!!


Chris
Yes of course! I really do like the way different mics catch different vibes and you're right, even if it doesn't sound totally great by itself if it's mixed right it just seems to add to the overall effect.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2014, 09:17 PM
tonejunkee tonejunkee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 171
Default Re: Recording a Cajon

cajons are sick! get in a great room with a great room mic! The c12a has been my fave on cajon drums
__________________
audio jobs guitar tuner
metronome
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-02-2014, 10:09 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,991
Default Re: Recording a Cajon

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonejunkee View Post
cajons are sick! get in a great room with a great room mic! The c12a has been my fave on cajon drums
I have to record a Cajon real soon for a project. Unfortunately, I won't be able to do it in my friend's studio where all the great mics are. My studio is really not set up for this sort of thing as 95% of everything I do is synth based. So, I only have 1 mic, as listed below. My thought was to place near the hole. Or would it be better with 1 mic to place near the front? My room is pretty insulted and not very live, so there won't be much in the way of room acoustics anyways.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording timing / late recording issue resolved DAWgEAR Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 0 07-17-2013 09:10 AM
low latency recording vs low hardware buffer size recording chrisdee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 01-27-2009 06:49 AM
Distortion of Recording When Playing Back Recording acs Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 03-18-2008 04:29 PM
recording a CAJON??? davidp158 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-01-2003 11:48 AM
PT 5.1 - Recording very lengthy narrative project.. ran out of recording disk space? Rockman-Songwriter Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 04-16-2003 12:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com