Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2006, 03:32 AM
ziggy_me ziggy_me is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
Default PT LE control surface

Hi,
Right until now, I was using a novation x-station as a control surface for PT 7.1.1. However, after the 7.3 upgrade, my system isn't recognizing the CS10 dll file that was previously used. Does anyone know of a way I can put my x-station to work? I really like it as a control surface for both pro tools and software instruments. If that's impossible, what other sugestions do you have for a new control surface (mackie control?, command8?...)

Thanks,

Luis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2006, 04:10 AM
aip aip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Paris
Posts: 29
Default Re: PT LE control surface

ziggy_me,
I have a similar complaint since PT7, and have never gotten a clear response. PT used to allow the Penny&Giles DC-16 as a controller, that worked perfectly for all aspects of a session. Then it was dropped, but it could be somewhat adapted using the CS-10 profile, but in a very minimal manner. Now it's dropped completely, I guess.
Since the Penny&Giles DC-16 is totally programmable, and can send strings, etc., is there someone here who knows if it is possible to reconfigure it to PT7 - that is, to give it a MIDI controller profile that allows transport, faders, insert controls and the whole shebang?
Any help GREATLY appreciated!
aip
__________________
aeons of ions
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2006, 10:47 AM
bigbubbaj bigbubbaj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 1,457
Default Re: PT LE control surface

My CM Labs MotorMix still works great and is still officially supported.

Sometimes you can grab the drivers off an old install and put them in the proper folders...

Its worth a shot.
__________________
5198 Studios
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-16-2006, 03:15 AM
aip aip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Paris
Posts: 29
Default Re: PT LE control surface

big bubbaj,
I have tried that in the past, with no success, but will try again when I install 7.3. For the moment I'm on 7.0, since I had a big project to finish, and couldn't risk any possible conflicts.
Thanks for your reply!
If anyone can direct me to a clear explanation of the MIDI controller profiles - and possibly a way to program my Penny&Giles DC-16 to function perfectly with PT7, I would greatly appreciate it.
aip
__________________
aeons of ions
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2006, 05:35 PM
dubhausdisco1 dubhausdisco1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 425
Default Re: PT LE control surface

It's unfortunate that you have not listed your setup in your profile... the 002 (NOT the 002r, which is a poor man's HD) is a SUPERB control surface for LE...........
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-17-2006, 03:30 AM
aip aip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Paris
Posts: 29
Default Re: PT LE control surface

dubhausdisco1,
Thanks for the reply. My setup is a bit too big to go into all the details, but breifly: several keyboards, using the K2500 as the main kb, since it has a bank of faders and buttons, several sound modules on a MIDI patchbay, a G5 2x2G with 2.5G RAM, NI R5,K2,Spektral Delay, Melodyne,... and several outboard tools Drawmer 1960, Penny & Giles PP-10,... etc,...
But I think you may have missed the point of my question. My Penny & Giles DC16 used to be a fully accepted MIDI controller for PT6, working for transport, mix, FX and all. It still works like a champ for all my softs and is totally programmable and very good as an interface, positioned to the left of my K2500, allowing any fiddling in real time that I need. I have no need for the DIGI 002,(unless you would like to send it to me for Christmas!), and would simply like to regain the full compatibility I once had with my PT6 & P&G DC-16.
Thanks again for your suggestion.
aip
__________________
aeons of ions
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-18-2006, 09:56 AM
kRokksOn kRokksOn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 160
Default Re: PT LE control surface

Have you tried contacting your respective hardware manufacturers for updates on drivers?

I´m using command8 myself so I´ve never run into any problems with controllers (thank goodness).

Good luck.
__________________
"lyrics, wasted time between solos!"

kiddipalli@simnet.is
syrland.is
myspace.com/kiddipalli
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-18-2006, 10:03 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: PT LE control surface

I believe there are new Legacy MIDI Controllers, including the cs-10 driver, for 7.3 on this page.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-19-2006, 06:04 AM
aip aip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Paris
Posts: 29
Default Re: PT LE control surface

First, ziggy_me, sorry if I hijacked your thread, but some of the answers are valid for many of us.
Second, thanks to all who have answered my questions. The P&G DC16 was discontinued long ago, so there are probably no new drivers, although I'll contact them to find out. The CS-10 template is only a pale reflection of the power of the DC-16, so is less interesting to me.
Third, and possibly the most important - does anyone know how to program a MIDI controller (any MIDI controller) to take full advantage of PT7? The DC-16 is FULLY programmable, so I still hope to get it back into service with PT.
Thanks again to all, and have a good Holiday season.
aip
__________________
aeons of ions
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 control surface (As audio) & control 24 as surface crizdee ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 7 01-04-2016 12:30 PM
Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control lberrios1962 Pro Tools 10 18 05-26-2012 12:51 AM
D-Control Es32 Control Surface No Sound from Headphone outputs mark007 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-08-2012 07:03 PM
Digi 003 Control Surface Mackie Control Mode ctmusicman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-23-2008 07:23 PM
Mackie Control Universal or Tascam 1082 for control surface? anders Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-28-2007 06:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com