Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2019, 09:40 AM
jaminjamesp jaminjamesp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 122
Default 12.8.2 R2 is my only available download, but I let my upgrade plan lapse at 12.6.1

Doing a clean install of PT and OS X today. Signed in to Avid to download PT 12.6.1, and now only 12.8.2 R2 displays in my available downloads. I forgot to renew my upgrade plan at 12.6.1. I've been fine with it, so I haven't sweated it. But now I'd like to do a clean install, and it's not showing up in my products.

Just checked my iLok licenses, and it's just says "Pro Tools Perpetual Bundle 10/11/12" but doesn't indicate which versions of 12. Around Christmas I was thinking of upgrading to 2018, so I was logged in to my Avid account and it still had 12.6.1 in there, and nothing else. Did something change?
__________________
Pro Tools 12.6.1
OS X 10.12.1
nMP 6 Core
Dual AMD FirePro D300
32 GB Ram
Syphony i/o 8x8
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2019, 10:38 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,812
Default Re: 12.8.2 R2 is my only available download, but I let my upgrade plan lapse at 12.6.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaminjamesp View Post
Doing a clean install of PT and OS X today. Signed in to Avid to download PT 12.6.1, and now only 12.8.2 R2 displays in my available downloads. I forgot to renew my upgrade plan at 12.6.1. I've been fine with it, so I haven't sweated it. But now I'd like to do a clean install, and it's not showing up in my products.

Just checked my iLok licenses, and it's just says "Pro Tools Perpetual Bundle 10/11/12" but doesn't indicate which versions of 12. Around Christmas I was thinking of upgrading to 2018, so I was logged in to my Avid account and it still had 12.6.1 in there, and nothing else. Did something change?
Nothing changed. You still have a perpetual license asset but when you got the bundle you only got a year's worth of PT updates. After that you're in lapsed and have to pay $299. This is why it's good to have downloads of everything so that when you have to reinstall you have things at hand and not have to worry about being able to get what you need online. I have a 2TB drive that has nothing but all my downloads on it.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2019, 11:50 PM
Mark Ziebarth Mark Ziebarth is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 631
Default Re: 12.8.2 R2 is my only available download, but I let my upgrade plan lapse at 12.6.

Funny, I have an expired Pro Tools license that stopped with 12.7.1. I read your thread and took a look into my account and there's still a 12.7.1 download. Do you think 12.8.2 R2 is less stable than 12.6.1?
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 3.66 GHz six Cores, HD Native, 192 I/O, Avid Dock, Artist Mix and Pro Tools Ultimate
Mac Pro 2008, RME Fireface, Pro Tools 12, Euphonix MC Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Upgrade Plan - money for just a download link? mustgroove Licensing & Accounts 11 10-25-2017 11:05 PM
Email from Avid saying I don't have an Upgrade Plan or my Plan has expired Audiofarm Licensing & Accounts 40 09-30-2016 12:41 PM
Additional bonus plug-ins! Upgrade plan but not support plan Dinwiddy AAX Plug-ins 1 08-18-2016 01:02 PM
Plugins Support Plan vs Upgrade only plan LizziF Licensing & Accounts 1 07-21-2016 01:19 PM
Pro Tools HD Plan license not updated after renewing Upgrade & Support Plan FritsFlits Licensing & Accounts 1 02-25-2016 02:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com