Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2015, 10:16 AM
pribb1 pribb1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 74
Default "Current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 khz"

Just upgraded from PT8 LE to PT11.
Every I try to open an existing session, I get the following message: "Current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 khz". So I can't work any old sessions. Anyone know how to fix this?
Thank you!


Specs
Operating System: Windows 8.1 64-bit
CPU: 4th Gen (Haswell) Core i5 3.5GHz
Graphics/Video: Intel HD Graphics 4600
Maximum Resolution: HDMI: 4096 x 2160 @ 24 Hz, 2560 x 1600 @ 60 Hz; DVI-D: 1920 x 1200 @ 60 Hz; VGA: 1920 x 1200 @ 60 Hz
Memory – Included: 8GB DDR3/1600 (4 slots/2 filled)
Plus: 2 4GB1600 - Lifetime Memory PC3-12800 DIMM 4GB
Plus: 1 InstallRAM - Install: 4gb1600
Memory – Max: 32GB (install in pairs)
Storage – Included: 1 TB Seagate Barracuda (SATA 6.0 Gb/s)
Optical Drive: DVD-RW
USB Ports: 4 x USB 3.0 ports (4 rear); 4 x USB 2.0 ports (2 rear, 2 front)
PCI Slots: 1 x PCIe 3.0/2.0 x16 (x16 mode, gray), 3 x PCIe 2.0 x1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2015, 10:18 AM
pribb1 pribb1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 74
Default Re: "Current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 khz"

And I have a Roland Quad Capture.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2015, 10:22 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,025
Default Re: "Current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 khz"

You don't mention what audio interface you are using. If windows is using your audio interface, the sample rate can't change and pro tools will give you the error you received. Switch windows back to using onboard audio and pro tools shouldn't have this problem anymore unless it's a third party interface and you need to change the sampling rate before opening pro tools.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2015, 10:33 AM
pribb1 pribb1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 74
Default Re: "Current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 khz"

I'm a relative newbie, so excuse my limited knowledge. The audio interface I'm using is the Roland Quad Capture.

How do I change the sample rate before opening Pro Tools?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2015, 10:45 AM
hooksound hooksound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N/A
Posts: 240
Default Re: "Current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 khz"

Hey pribb1.

Sounds like your default Windows Playback device is set to use your audio interface. This was OK in pre-PT11, but the new audio engine in PT11 does not seem to like this.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2015, 10:51 AM
pribb1 pribb1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 74
Default Re: "Current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 khz"

So what should I do?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-13-2015, 11:02 AM
hooksound hooksound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N/A
Posts: 240
Default Re: "Current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 khz"

Quote:
Originally Posted by pribb1 View Post
So what should I do?
Hmm, I'm on Windows 7, so it might look a bit different in W8. In W7 there's a little speaker icon in the lower right notification area of the desktop. Right click the icon and select "Playback devices". It should also be accessible via the Control Panel under "Hardware and Sound". Select something else than your audio interface and click "Set Default". Then try to reload your PT session.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-13-2015, 11:48 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: "Current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 khz"

It's the same exact process in Windows 8.1.

You might have to do it for default recording device, as well. And make sure you restart, just in case.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-13-2015, 02:38 PM
pribb1 pribb1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 74
Default Re: "Current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 khz"

mesaone - How do I change the default recording device?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-13-2015, 02:56 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: "Current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 khz"

Same way you do it for the playback device, only you choose the Recording tab instead of the Playback tab.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 KHz" error when tr eyeshow Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 19 09-09-2015 10:10 AM
The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 kHz oNeKOG Third Party Interfaces 3 09-08-2014 04:36 PM
the current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 47.9 kHz mikevarela Post - Surround - Video 3 03-30-2013 09:26 AM
"The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 KHz" E-Lister Windows 3 02-25-2012 11:54 AM
"The current playback engine does not support a bit rate of 48kHZ" M-powered 8 beasleymusic Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 04-02-2011 03:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com