Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-09-2014, 12:45 PM
crandallwarren crandallwarren is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 233
Default 24 Ch Redundant Recording rig

Hi All,

For a while now, I've been scheming together mark-ups for two 24 channel recording rigs, setup to be redundant to one another. I've got a gig coming up in about a month and I think its time to finally pull the trigger. In trying to keep costs down and trying to keep things as isolated as possible as far as the redundancy-- here's what I've got for rig. Again, there would be two of these chains, each going to its own laptop and drives:

-3 Focusrite Saffire Pro 40's (two daisychained via FW and the third going adat).

The cost per 24ch rig is $1500, total cost $3000.

I've played around with a lot of scenarios and I know that these interfaces are by no means hi-fi. Also, I will be limited in terms of 41.1 and 48k. However, what I like about this setup is that the entire chain is redundant-- including the pres.

I'd really appreciate any thoughts, "Wait, don't do its!", etc. Or other ideas. Is this overkill? Is this prudent?

Thanks very much in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2014, 12:15 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,176
Default Re: 24 Ch Redundant Recording rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by crandallwarren View Post
Hi All,

For a while now, I've been scheming together mark-ups for two 24 channel recording rigs, setup to be redundant to one another. I've got a gig coming up in about a month and I think its time to finally pull the trigger. In trying to keep costs down and trying to keep things as isolated as possible as far as the redundancy-- here's what I've got for rig. Again, there would be two of these chains, each going to its own laptop and drives:

-3 Focusrite Saffire Pro 40's (two daisychained via FW and the third going adat).

The cost per 24ch rig is $1500, total cost $3000.

I've played around with a lot of scenarios and I know that these interfaces are by no means hi-fi. Also, I will be limited in terms of 41.1 and 48k. However, what I like about this setup is that the entire chain is redundant-- including the pres.

I'd really appreciate any thoughts, "Wait, don't do its!", etc. Or other ideas. Is this overkill? Is this prudent?

Thanks very much in advance!
Hi, What are you going to be recording? Having a backup is always good, but it does seem a little like overkill to me. Don't underestimate the Focusrite pres - sure there are technically "better" and more expensive interfaces, but the Focusrite's perform really well for me.
__________________
Help Us Help You



Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2019.5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-19-2014, 01:10 PM
crandallwarren crandallwarren is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 233
Default Re: 24 Ch Redundant Recording rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
Hi, What are you going to be recording? Having a backup is always good, but it does seem a little like overkill to me. Don't underestimate the Focusrite pres - sure there are technically "better" and more expensive interfaces, but the Focusrite's perform really well for me.
Thanks for your response. This is for a mobile concert rig. That's great to know about the focusrites. I've heard good things from everyone that I've asked.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-19-2014, 02:55 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,708
Default Re: 24 Ch Redundant Recording rig

Do you have any idea what the live sound rig is?

If it happens to be a Yamaha console, or other live sound console which is Dante enabled, you can grab a Sound Devices 970, plus into both the primary and secondary Dante networks, and record onto redundant drives.

This is really the best option out there. But it requires a Dante enabled console on the live sound side of the gig.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
redundant e-mail! Terry Wetzel General Discussion 3 03-20-2012 07:15 PM
Redundant BNC borez VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 12-09-2010 09:49 AM
More redundant hardware! Chris Pettifer General Discussion 5 09-29-2009 02:46 PM
Redundant drives ? lemix Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-01-2004 01:24 AM
Mbox with pc when? Redundant?? bouncing balls 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-23-2002 10:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com