Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2004, 03:38 PM
Darryl Duncan's Avatar
Darryl Duncan Darryl Duncan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 56
Default New Tic vs Sample timebase, help me to understand!

Hi All,

Regarding the new Tic based time feature in ProTool 6.7. I would appreciate it if someone could help me to understand the advantages and disadvantages to setting your audio tracks to "Tic based" time verses the Standard "Sample based" time.

The Digi documentation does a pretty decent job in technically explaining what it means but says very little about what it's implications or practical uses may be musically. Can someone help me to understand the new feature and why I may want to use it or why I may want to stay away from it?

THANKS!

-Darryl
www.gamebeatstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2004, 03:40 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: New Tic vs Sample timebase, help me to understand!

Basically if you want Pro Tools to behave as you've always used it.. use SAMPLE BASED. If you want your regions to shift with any tempo changes.. use TICK BASED.

The advantage of the latter.. if you had a track of short regions containing snare and kick hits.. if you now adjust the tempo... the song will play back at the faster (or slower) tempo -- however in 6.7 there is not TCE of the audio... so you have to be aware of the limitations imposed.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tick timebase - Problem separating regions after Loop Record TimmyP 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-26-2008 06:14 PM
29.97 ND Timebase innacuracy? Can anyone confirm? StavrosSound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-15-2007 12:42 AM
Still trying to understand what can/can't be done Sparky1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-28-2005 03:11 PM
Help With Tabs & Timebase Rulers... rmccam Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-18-2004 03:19 PM
I don't understand - 5.0.1a - ??? stink 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-04-2000 06:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com