Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2018, 11:42 PM
wildplum wildplum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 49
Default Asio driver and non Pro Tools software

My question concerns the ASIO Digidesign Driver, Windows 7 and four programs: Pro Tools HD version 8.1.1, WaveLab 6, RX 6 , and HOFA.

My old machine, a Windows XP machine, died and I got a new (for me) machine running Windows 7. I use a 192 i/o and a 96 i/o connected to a Digidesign HD accel core pcie card. All four of these programs ran fine on the XP machine using the ASIO driver that came with the HD version 8 install CD.

Then I installed the four programs (and their respective license dongles).
Pro Tools HD installed without too much difficulty and runs fine; same with WaveLab.

Both RX6 and HOFA installed and launch just fine. However, neither of them recognize the ASIO Digidesign Driver as a playback option.

I have drawn a total blank on how to fix the problem.
Any help or advice would be much appreciated.
Thank you.
__________________
Paul Tumolo
Wildplum Recordings
a micro label, studio and remote recording service
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2018, 04:57 AM
Neil H Neil H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: London UK
Posts: 178
Default Re: Asio driver and non Pro Tools software

Its not going to work, its been a very long in the tooth subject but Avid never showed any interest in fixing it.
You best chance is to get a cheap 3rd party audio interface and wire it to your monitoring for all non PT tasks.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 10/12
Pro Control & Fader Packs
Artist Transport & iPad Control App

Join the Facebook Pro Tools Windows User Group
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2018, 08:46 AM
wildplum wildplum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 49
Default Re: Asio driver and non Pro Tools software

thank you Neil. Is this a problem unique to windows 7? The same group of 4 programs worked with windows XP. There was a different ASIO digdesign driver involved (I think) but all 4 programs happily shared that driver.


And why does WaveLab work (it successfully uses the Asio digidesign driver in my new environment), but I can not get RX and HOFA to even recognize the driver as present. very strange.
__________________
Paul Tumolo
Wildplum Recordings
a micro label, studio and remote recording service

Last edited by wildplum; 10-18-2018 at 08:54 AM. Reason: adition info
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-18-2018, 12:54 PM
Neil H Neil H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: London UK
Posts: 178
Default Re: Asio driver and non Pro Tools software

HD Core/accel were never supported for anything beyond Windows 7 so thats where that hardware ends but FYI yes its still the case if you were to try it.

The problem also exists for HDX and HD Native cards with Windows 7, 8, and 10.
I don't think Avid have shown any interest in their hardware working for anything but PT for many years now.

Why does it work in wavelab? luck that wavelab is a little more tolerant perhaps, either way the situation is not going to chang/improvee as HD TDM hardware is now long out of support and development.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 10/12
Pro Control & Fader Packs
Artist Transport & iPad Control App

Join the Facebook Pro Tools Windows User Group
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2018, 09:51 AM
wildplum wildplum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 49
Default Re: Asio driver and non Pro Tools software

Neil, one last question if I may, please.


I have an option to replace PT HD 8.1 software with PT HD 9 on my windows 7 machine (same HD accel core, 192 amd 96). Can I expect to have the same problems running non avid soft (e.g., RX) using the ASIO that come with the HD 9 install disc?


BTW, part of the reason I am still on old stuff is that I only use PT for recording and editing; i mix analog.


Thanks again, you have been very helpful.
__________________
Paul Tumolo
Wildplum Recordings
a micro label, studio and remote recording service
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-19-2018, 10:02 AM
Neil H Neil H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: London UK
Posts: 178
Default Re: Asio driver and non Pro Tools software

Yes I'd expect the same problem from any later version.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 10/12
Pro Control & Fader Packs
Artist Transport & iPad Control App

Join the Facebook Pro Tools Windows User Group
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 11.3 HDX Asio Driver and 3rd Party Software stevenraets Pro Tools Software (Win) 3 08-25-2017 10:51 AM
FL7 PRO TOOLS 7.4 LE[ASIO DRIVER ERROR IN FL7. vetsquad muzik 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-17-2008 09:06 AM
Asio driver problems with 002 Pro tools 7 with SP2 inka 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-03-2007 09:01 PM
PRO TOOLS 7 ASIO DRIVER PROBLEM instro001 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-17-2005 08:57 AM
asio driver pro tools 5.1 ?? Possible ?? nossnevs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-12-2004 03:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com