Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #131  
Old 11-16-2020, 07:36 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,455
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

This probably sounds weird but I'm halfway through mixing an album and I daren't change to "dark" mode in case it starts affecting how I hear things
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 11-16-2020, 08:24 AM
DontLetMeDrown DontLetMeDrown is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 260
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Quote:
Originally Posted by taylor4814 View Post
I *do* have dark colors on most other PT windows including plug-in windows...
On Windows 10? Can you take a screenshot with some plugins open? I have not been able to get rid of the white bars. Where did you go to do that? The Windows settings only gives me light, dark, and custom. Doesn't let me get as detailed with window settings like Windows 7.
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 11-16-2020, 09:10 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,316
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
I maxed the saturation in the PT color pallette and dropped the brightness to about 25% and I'm liking it. Much easier on my old (68.75 year old) eyes.
Maybe it's something in the Apple color pallette or what but I like it as it's less eyestrain at least for me. I've always been photo-sensitive with my eyes.

I gave up on it last night. I tried every possible saturation/brightness combo...no real joy. I find it harder to read the screen. So, I went back to classic for now. Hopefully, Avid will add some better options for it in the next update.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 11-16-2020, 09:29 AM
taylor4814 taylor4814 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 422
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Quote:
Originally Posted by DontLetMeDrown View Post
On Windows 10? Can you take a screenshot with some plugins open? I have not been able to get rid of the white bars. Where did you go to do that? The Windows settings only gives me light, dark, and custom. Doesn't let me get as detailed with window settings like Windows 7.
It's the Windows Settings > Personalization > Colors dialog, where you can set an accent color, and have apply to title bars, etc...

But still doesn't change PT Mix, Edit, MIDI, Workspace windows among others...

(I'm on Win 10 Home
version 2004
OS Build 19041.630
NOT version 20H2 yet)


Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot 2020-11-16 112300.jpg (70.3 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 11-16-2020, 10:01 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,032
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
I gave up on it last night. I tried every possible saturation/brightness combo...no real joy. I find it harder to read the screen. So, I went back to classic for now. Hopefully, Avid will add some better options for it in the next update.
Could be the differences between Macs and Windows machines because from what I'm reading here Windoze users are having some graphics issues with white bars, etc. I started working on a tune yesterday in dark mode and for giggles I switched over to classic mode and I damned near had my eyes blow out with the brightness - switched back to dark mode.


I'm still working with making changes to the dark mode file with little success. Trying to decipher what graphic element a specific line pertains to isn't easy. Eventually I should be able to suss it all out; haven't had a good programming challenge in years. Now that we have access to the color settings file I have no doubt some smart person will be putting out custom skins.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #136  
Old 11-16-2020, 10:04 AM
Ale Ale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 638
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

I tried darkmode for a whole day during proiduction.
I am sorry: I do not like it.

For my eyes everything is less visible.
The VERY bright Automation/locator lines disturb me.
I sometime even could not see where the Track ends.
The grid is almost invisible now.
In the edit window om the left side the tracks ar missing contrast and so they are not so cleary to read.
......
The old guys here in studio switched back to classic
Our 30 Years younger trainee loves it.

I think there should be some things adjusted so that everyone likes it.
I have no problems with logicx dark mode

Ale
__________________
PT HD Ultimate 2020.11 6/12-Core Westmere/ 48 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 96 I/O / 192 I/O / Omni / BM Intensity Pro (Driver 11.4.1)
1x PT 2020.11 / MacMini Server late2011 / 16 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 002
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 11-16-2020, 10:10 AM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 410
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Love dark mode as I said, but it doesn't matter if you are young or old--grid lines have no contrast with the background. When you are working fast you need to see these things clearly.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Catalina, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 11-16-2020, 10:41 AM
grayter1 grayter1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 335
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

There's definitely a difference between Mac and Windows systems for dark mode.

I have an iMac at the office and dark mode is much more acceptable on that. The saturation on my PC at home seems way off and certain graphic elements are much harder to see. Then there's the stupid blue window boarder that Avid cannot seem to get around and remove. The first thing I did when I switched to PC from Mac last year was to change the window boarder color (as seen in the post above). That helps but it's not a total fix.

At this point, I can't figure out if it's the Windows OS, my monitor, Pro Tools or a combo platter of all three.

At any rate, thumbs up on the Mac. Thumbs down on Windows.

tg
__________________
Win 10 Pro / i9-10850K 3.6GHz / 64 GB / nVIDIA GTX 1050ti / RME BabyFace Pro FS / Console 1 + Fader / Yamaha MODX6 / Komplete S49 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11 / Nuendo 11 / Reaper 6 / Komplete 13 / Omnisphere / Keyscape / Trilian
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 11-16-2020, 11:44 AM
itsjustmeee123 itsjustmeee123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: california
Posts: 84
Default Re: ProTools 2020.11

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
I am really liking 2020.11 thus far. Loving dark mode. It's not perfect, but for late night editing it is working a treat. Sessions seem to be loading a heck of a lot faster with it too!
Same here. Love the dark mode and my larger sessions .. especially the ones with heavy VI tracks are loading a lot faster. Also the Optimize Performance at Low Buffer Sizes seems to really be working great.
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 11-16-2020, 11:47 AM
itsjustmeee123 itsjustmeee123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: california
Posts: 84
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Quote:
Originally Posted by grayter1 View Post
There's definitely a difference between Mac and Windows systems for dark mode.

I have an iMac at the office and dark mode is much more acceptable on that. The saturation on my PC at home seems way off and certain graphic elements are much harder to see. Then there's the stupid blue window boarder that Avid cannot seem to get around and remove. The first thing I did when I switched to PC from Mac last year was to change the window boarder color (as seen in the post above). That helps but it's not a total fix.

At this point, I can't figure out if it's the Windows OS, my monitor, Pro Tools or a combo platter of all three.

At any rate, thumbs up on the Mac. Thumbs down on Windows.

tg
I was going to comment on that same thing. I can't compare dark modes between computers but on my iMac 27 inch it looks great. Much easier on the eyes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2020.5/2020.3 Compatibility with Catalina 10.15.4? derrickhou macOS 4 07-26-2020 08:46 AM
Pro Tools (2020.3) on MacBook Air 2020 compatibility pellekuipers Pro Tools 2020 1 04-04-2020 09:01 AM
How to change Pro Tools 12 to a Dark theme/skin Defier Pro Tools 12 7 03-26-2016 06:22 PM
Pro Tools 8 theme for Reaper? JazzyJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-09-2010 08:51 AM
Pro tools theme song....! roijin Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-27-2001 08:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com