Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-2020, 10:01 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,316
Default PT 2020.11 and Melodyne Essential 5

Okay, I'm officially confused on using the new feature of audio to midi with the Melodyne Essential plugin added as a freebie with 2020.11


I've had Melodyne 4 ever since it came out, but never upgraded to 5. My Avid products page provides me the code to unlock Melodyne Essential 5. However, the "Loyalty Rewards" tab that supposedly has the link to get it is completely missing on my products page. It showed up briefly and then just disappeared!



In PT, if I search for Melodyne I can see Melodyne 4, which I've had, and then one that just says "Melodyne'. Is that new one? If I try to install that, it opens a Melodyne page to update to 5.1. But I don't see anywhere I'm supposed to input the code I got from Avid. And none of it looks like the example is the screen shots given on the instructions page provided by Avid on the my products page.



I couldn't be more confused! Can someone help me out, please?
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-14-2020, 10:12 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,316
Default Re: PT 2020.11 and Melodyne Essential 5

Never mind. I think I just discovered the answer. Apparently you have to first remove any version of Melodyne 5.0 or earlier you have on your system BEFORE installing the new 2020.11 update.



Quote:
Melodyne (5.0/earlier) is installed and licensed

  • In order to use the Audio-to-MIDI features in Pro Tools 2020.11, version 5.1/later of Celemony’s Melodyne must be installed and activated (licensed).
  • If you have Melodyne 5.0/earlier installed, you must upgrade before the new features in Pro Tools can be used.
  • The Pro Tools 2020.11 installer will not update an older version of the Melodyne.aaxplugin plug-in since that could be a full version (Avid provides the "essential" version with Pro Tools). Options are to upgrade your copy of Melodyne -or- remove the older plug-in then run the Pro Tools installer again.
So my options are to either update to 5.1 from 4.0 directly with Melodyne for the full version, which I've had for a long time. Or remove Melodyne 4 altogether and go with the free Melodyne Essential 5.1.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2020, 01:53 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,303
Default Re: PT 2020.11 and Melodyne Essential 5

Keep v4 I still use V3.2 for standalone for the midi control features

The audio to midi in pro tools 20.11 works fast.
Give it a try. You can put back the v4 plugin.

OS 10.14.6
2010 cMP 12 core
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Last edited by DetroitT; 11-14-2020 at 03:41 PM. Reason: correction V3.222
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2020, 03:57 PM
Ale Ale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 638
Default Re: PT 2020.11 and Melodyne Essential 5

I have just seen in the celemony shop that you can use the essential serial number as a coupon to get a discount of 49 € when I upgrade my Version 4 to 5
Ale
__________________
PT HD Ultimate 2020.11 6/12-Core Westmere/ 48 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 96 I/O / 192 I/O / Omni / BM Intensity Pro (Driver 11.4.1)
1x PT 2020.11 / MacMini Server late2011 / 16 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 002
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2020, 09:17 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,316
Default Re: PT 2020.11 and Melodyne Essential 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ale View Post
I have just seen in the celemony shop that you can use the essential serial number as a coupon to get a discount of 49 € when I upgrade my Version 4 to 5
Ale

I thought that might be the case, but I can't find that info on my account anywhere on the Celemony website.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2020, 09:21 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,316
Default Re: PT 2020.11 and Melodyne Essential 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by DetroitT View Post
Keep v4 I still use V3.2 for standalone for the midi control features

The audio to midi in pro tools 20.11 works fast.
Give it a try. You can put back the v4 plugin.

OS 10.14.6
2010 cMP 12 core

All I've done at this point is uninstall it. Now the Audio to MIDI feature works as advertised in PT. And you're right, it is fast. However, I do notice some differences. For example with a drum loop, it put the entire beat on one note. Whereas in 4 with the percussion algorithm it broke it out to different notes, like a MIDI drum track would. Maybe there's another way to do it? One of the main things I like about the audio to MIDI feature in Melodyne is being able to take a basic drum loop, convert to MIDI and change up the drums being used.



Is there a way to do that using the new feature?



I had no issues with a synth bass part or a lead synth line using the "melodic" algorithm.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-15-2020, 02:50 PM
Ale Ale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 638
Default Re: PT 2020.11 and Melodyne Essential 5

Here is the link to celemony

https://helpcenter.celemony.com/M5/d...n?env=proTools
__________________
PT HD Ultimate 2020.11 6/12-Core Westmere/ 48 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 96 I/O / 192 I/O / Omni / BM Intensity Pro (Driver 11.4.1)
1x PT 2020.11 / MacMini Server late2011 / 16 GB / OS 10.13.6 / 002
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-15-2020, 11:58 PM
HurtMesaMusic's Avatar
HurtMesaMusic HurtMesaMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Near Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 39
Default Re: PT 2020.11 and Melodyne Essential 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
For example with a drum loop, it put the entire beat on one note. Whereas in 4 with the percussion algorithm it broke it out to different notes, like a MIDI drum track would. Maybe there's another way to do it?

Hi Donald, did you try using the polyphonic setting? Just my guess that poly might split the drums to different pitches.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-16-2020, 03:08 AM
Righty27 Righty27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: PT 2020.11 and Melodyne Essential 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ale View Post
I have just seen in the celemony shop that you can use the essential serial number as a coupon to get a discount of 49 € when I upgrade my Version 4 to 5
Ale
So I've got my new Melodyne Essential V5 serial number on my Avid account with PT 2020.11 + I have Melodyne Studio V4 in my Celemony account, followed by an option to add an additional license/serial number.

I wasn't planning on upgrading to V5 Studio which normally costs €149 however e.g. if the price drops for Black Friday, it might be worth it just for the housekeeping and to avoid complexity within PT.

What's the process to get the €49 discount - should I add the new V5 Essential license to my Celemony account, or is this part of the checkout process?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-16-2020, 06:51 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,247
Default Re: PT 2020.11 and Melodyne Essential 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Righty27 View Post
So I've got my new Melodyne Essential V5 serial number on my Avid account with PT 2020.11 + I have Melodyne Studio V4 in my Celemony account, followed by an option to add an additional license/serial number.

I wasn't planning on upgrading to V5 Studio which normally costs €149 however e.g. if the price drops for Black Friday, it might be worth it just for the housekeeping and to avoid complexity within PT.

What's the process to get the €49 discount - should I add the new V5 Essential license to my Celemony account, or is this part of the checkout process?
You shouldn't use add an additional license if you want to upgrade. Go to store and select upgrades. Paste the M5 Essential Serial number into the coupon code at checkout. It only gave me a $20 discount ($129) rather than the €49 ($49) for a Studio 4 to 5 upgrade which normally costs $149 so not sure how that works for others.
__________________
PT 2020.12 DP 10.13 MOTU M4 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10
PT 2020.12 DP 10.13 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV HP Z2 G4 Xeon Workstation Win10
2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 VEP 7.x hosting various VIs

Last edited by ChuckS; 11-16-2020 at 07:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Melodyne 4 Essential - 39$ domagtom Buy & Sell 3 10-05-2019 12:48 PM
FS: Melodyne Essential $75 ramune64 Buy & Sell 2 07-09-2018 06:23 PM
Melodyne Essential, that came with PT 8.0 tchambeau 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 25 12-30-2010 11:29 PM
Melodyne Essential 2.0 DonaldM Virtual Instruments 2 11-23-2009 05:05 PM
Melodyne essential... whit12 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 11-01-2009 05:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com