Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-18-2023, 01:24 AM

Default Fanless thunderbolt enclosure?

I have a professional home studio. About to move up to the new Mac Studio. All my external hard drives need to be as quiet as they possibly can be. I have looked at some OWC Thunderbolt enclosures but they all have fans. Anyone find any external Thunderbolt drive enclosures that either do not have a fan or are whisper quiet?
Old 06-18-2023, 07:05 AM

Default Re: Fanless thunderbolt enclosure?

Hmmph I’ve discussed this at least twice with OWC. I don’t understand why they can’t give us just one audio friendly enclosure.

I’m not an engineer but I wondered if it was the power delivery. Which in a studio environment we don’t need 70W to charge a laptop. But maybe it’s part of the Thunderbolt spec? Not sure.

SATA SSD’s are fine without a fan. But M.2 is becoming standard and they do need good cooling. But a well designed heat sink will work or even a low velocity silent fan if necessary.

The best I’ve found for SATA in the meantime is this https://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/MEMDC2KIT/

USB3.1 gen2 so fast enough for audio. Bonus points that it can be bus powered so good on the go.

Plenty of discussion here about M.2 enclosures if you search. Cooling is the main factor, a lot of the cheap ones are inadequate. Darryl Ramm usually chimes in with good advice
Old 06-18-2023, 07:09 AM

I have this.
Old 06-18-2023, 07:13 AM

Using a Sonnet Thunderbolt to 3 pci-e chassis, 2 adapters with m.2 drives, and a UA OCTO in the 3rd slot. It has a fan in it, but it’s silent.
https://www.sonnetstore.com/collecti...o-express-se3e
Old 06-18-2023, 07:45 AM

Im sure you have reasons for your external drives, but sometimes its good to change things up