Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2008, 12:04 PM
Mark Dann Mark Dann is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: NYC, USA
Posts: 763
Default slow save times in PT8?

PT has always saved even large sessions pretty much instantly for me, but since the upgrade, saves now take 4-5 seconds, and that includes Auto Backups.

Anybody else seeing this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2008, 02:39 PM
m4tune m4tune is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Austria
Posts: 144
Default Re: slow save times in PT8?

same here
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 12 Core 3,46 GHz MacOs 10.14.4 (Mojave), 64GB Ram, Angelbird Wings x2, PT HDX, HD I/O, 2x 192i/o, 1x Digi Pre, 1x Red8Pre 2x Artist Mix. Artist Transport

http://www.4tune.at
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2008, 03:33 PM
WildHoney WildHoney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 979
Default Re: slow save times in PT8?

What happens during auto-save? Does playback actually stop? or just spinning beach ball for 4-5 secs where you can do anything?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2008, 03:54 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: slow save times in PT8?

Any VI's with large samples? Any convolution reverbs?

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2008, 04:01 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,880
Default Re: slow save times in PT8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rail Jon Rogut View Post
Any VI's with large samples? Any convolution reverbs?

Rail
When I have Scarbee basses loaded into Kontakt (about a 1 gig patch), save times do indeed crawl. For some reason, other large samples don't take nearly as long.

Do you have an explanation, Rail? More importantly, a fix??? I love these basses, but I save VERY frequently and the added time is killing me...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2008, 04:48 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: slow save times in PT8?

Email the developers and ask them if there's a way to save the presets in the session with pointers to the sample data - and not save the actual sample data in the host's session files. Some plug-ins allow that as an option.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-28-2008, 06:54 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,880
Default Re: slow save times in PT8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rail Jon Rogut View Post
Email the developers and ask them if there's a way to save the presets in the session with pointers to the sample data - and not save the actual sample data in the host's session files. Some plug-ins allow that as an option.

Rail
Kontakt does allow that, but I never thought it would help with the save times. And actually I've already tested that and it didn't help. Whether the samples reside inside the session folder or elsewhere, the save time is the same.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-28-2008, 07:48 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: slow save times in PT8?

It's not the sample location - it's if it embeds the sample inside the Pro Tools session... so if you give the session file to someone else.. the sample is enclosed/imbedded within the session (ptf) file.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-28-2008, 10:24 PM
Mark Dann Mark Dann is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: NYC, USA
Posts: 763
Default Re: slow save times in PT8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildHoney View Post
What happens during auto-save? Does playback actually stop? or just spinning beach ball for 4-5 secs where you can do anything?
Auto save doesn't kick in while playback is happening. But as soon as you hit stop (assuming the time period between auto saves has been reached), it kicks in. Playback will NOT start again until it is done (4-5 seconds on the session I was working on today).

This is a workflow killer.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-28-2008, 10:25 PM
Mark Dann Mark Dann is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: NYC, USA
Posts: 763
Default Re: slow save times in PT8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rail Jon Rogut View Post
Any VI's with large samples? Any convolution reverbs?

Rail
On the session today, only Digi's piano VI. No reverbs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D-command causes L O N G save times!! WHy?! mtung ICON & C|24 18 07-13-2012 02:24 PM
Suddenly slow save times digidesigner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 09-16-2011 03:16 AM
Horrible save times subwoof Post - Surround - Video 5 02-21-2011 05:55 AM
Pro tools slow at times? Tonezpro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 06-22-2010 10:37 AM
Slow Load Times on WinXP Pro mgb259 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 6 01-09-2009 09:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com