Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > RTAS & TDM Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2014, 01:52 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,584
Default Maag EQ4 TDM version distortion/ crackling

Hi,

Just bought the Maag EQ4 as it's a great EQ AND it's TDM. But the TDM version distorts/crackles really bad on low frequencies? Switch to native and it's ok. Both AAX native and RTAS are fine, just the TDM version which has the problem. This is not related to input level or signal path gain structure, even with a very low input it's the same. I currently have the UAD version on demo and that works fine as well.

Just to clarify... identical settings on native and TDM and it's mainly the sub frequency that causes the problem.

Anyone else seen this issue with the TDM?

I haven't had chance to really troubleshoot yet but instantiated probably 6-8 times on different tracks and always the same.


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2014, 08:30 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,196
Default Re: Maag EQ4 TDM version distortion/ crackling

TDM is 24bit-fixedpoint math. Use the "screw" to lower levels and you're fine. Native processing "cheats" by using 32bit-floatingpoint math. That is the difference.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2014, 09:37 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,584
Default Re: Maag EQ4 TDM version distortion/ crackling

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
TDM is 24bit-fixedpoint math. Use the "screw" to lower levels and you're fine. Native processing "cheats" by using 32bit-floatingpoint math. That is the difference.
Hi,

No its not that. i can reduce the screw level and no difference. even with a very lower level source it still distorts/crackles.


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2014, 11:04 AM
tonwurm's Avatar
tonwurm tonwurm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: europe
Posts: 745
Default Re: Maag EQ4 TDM version distortion/ crackling

I had this issue, too (distortion, crackling in the lower frequencies). But it occured only in combination with another specific instanciated plug-in, I think it was the SPL-Vitalizer plug, but I´m not absolutely sure since it´s a longer time ago in the days of PT 8. Since PT 10 it didn´t occur again.
__________________
Mac Pro 2010: PT10 HD3 on Mavericks, PT12 Ultimate 2020.3 on High Sierra, Logic X, DP 7, VEPro

MacBook Pro: Logic X, Mainstage
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2015, 06:08 AM
Micks_Mix Micks_Mix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 136
Default Re: Maag EQ4 TDM version distortion/ crackling

Same problem, TDM version unusable...
__________________
Pro Tools|HDX, 192 HD I/O, 192 HD Digital I/O, Focusrite OctoPre, Pro Tools 12.7.1 w/ HEAT option, Mac Pro 5.1, 24 GB RAM, OS 10.9.5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-08-2015, 06:48 AM
dtmprod dtmprod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 434
Default Re: Maag EQ4 TDM version distortion/ crackling

I've only used it on the mix buss & never had an issue. Having not used it on multiple trax in rest of session, can't speak to that at all. Have you spoken to Dirk about it? He's usually quite responsive to any issues that come up…..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-2015, 09:03 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,196
Default Re: Maag EQ4 TDM version distortion/ crackling

I haven't had this issue, whether TDM/RTAS/AAX
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-2015, 09:05 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,196
Default Re: Maag EQ4 TDM version distortion/ crackling

And that said; I have Genelec 7060B sub so I'd think low freq problems would have been present here.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-08-2015, 11:21 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,584
Default Re: Maag EQ4 TDM version distortion/ crackling

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
And that said; I have Genelec 7060B sub so I'd think low freq problems would have been present here.
Hi,

Not just the low frequencies! I've noticed it there all the time now if i listen carefully!

Anyway i have installed the previous version 1.4 from the legacy downloads and its all working fine now.

So its an issue with version 1.5 only


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-09-2015, 05:23 AM
Micks_Mix Micks_Mix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 136
Default Re: Maag EQ4 TDM version distortion/ crackling

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Hi,

Not just the low frequencies! I've noticed it there all the time now if i listen carefully!

Anyway i have installed the previous version 1.4 from the legacy downloads and its all working fine now.

So its an issue with version 1.5 only


Chris
Thanks Chris,
I will try this, too.

The problem is indeed not only the low frequencies... In some cases the sound is completely messed, distorted and unpleasant... Sounds like Decapitator on steroids, switching to RTAS fixes it.

Michael.
__________________
Pro Tools|HDX, 192 HD I/O, 192 HD Digital I/O, Focusrite OctoPre, Pro Tools 12.7.1 w/ HEAT option, Mac Pro 5.1, 24 GB RAM, OS 10.9.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mbox2 periodic crackling and distortion grafic macOS 11 02-14-2015 10:38 AM
Distortion/crackling clips SteveFireland Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 04-13-2010 04:56 PM
Elastic Audio - Crackling, Popping, and Distortion lclebsch 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 10-08-2009 05:24 PM
Smack! causing HORRIBLE distortion crackling problems ProToolsIgniter Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-23-2007 08:40 PM
bizarre crackling distortion InjuredEar Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 03-22-2006 07:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com