Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-01-2018, 09:54 AM
Jperkins Jperkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 379
Default Re: iLok Cloud Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
I just checked your account again and your Pro Tools Perpetual Bundle (with 10/11/12) is not activated to an iLok. Please activate it by dragging it to your iLok or right+click > Activate...
I'm officially at a loss because even though it appears that the Perpetual Bundle is already on my iLok, I tried dragging it from my "All Licenses" area to my iLok and I receive the attached error message saying that the license is already activated to that location which it certainly appears to be on my end.

If I right click on the license to activate it, a screen pops up but no license or location is available.

Finally, in my Available Licenses section of the iLok Manager app, I don't see the Perpetual Bundle.

So I guess I'm confused why on your end you see that it's not on an iLok but on my end it appears to be on an iLok.

I can only get PT to launch when a cloud session is open.
__________________
iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.13.3

http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/
http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-01-2018, 10:07 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,758
Default Re: iLok Cloud Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jperkins View Post
...how good is that perpetual license valid for?
Perpetual licenses do not expire.

A perpetual license/bundle does have a Release Limit which defines what versions (based on release date) it will authorize. Check this with Show Details on the license in iLok License Manager. You can continue to run any supported version regardless of your Upgrade Plan status.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-01-2018, 10:11 AM
Jperkins Jperkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 379
Default Re: iLok Cloud Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
Perpetual licenses do not expire.

A perpetual license/bundle does have a Release Limit which defines what versions (based on release date) it will authorize. Check this with Show Details on the license in iLok License Manager. You can continue to run any supported version regardless of your Upgrade Plan status.
Thanks, I get it now. So in May I will update my license in some way to stay current.

See my above post because as far as I can tell, the license is showing to be on the iLok on my end but the only way Pro Tools 2018 will launch is when a cloud session is activated.
__________________
iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.13.3

http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/
http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-01-2018, 10:13 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,758
Default Re: iLok Cloud Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jperkins View Post
I'm officially at a loss because even though it appears that the Perpetual Bundle is already on my iLok, I tried dragging it from my "All Licenses" area to my iLok and I receive the attached error message saying that the license is already activated to that location...
Sorry this is taking longer than normal to solve!
  1. Quit Pro Tools
  2. Launch iLM and go to iLok License Manager > Check for Application Updates
  3. Update if prompted.
If it's already up-to-date...
  1. Go to iLok License Manager > Preferences > Licenses and click Remove Account Data from Computer
  2. Right+click on your iLok and select Synchronize
Let us know if that still doesn't help.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-01-2018, 01:24 PM
Jperkins Jperkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 379
Default Re: iLok Cloud Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
Sorry this is taking longer than normal to solve!
  1. Quit Pro Tools
  2. Launch iLM and go to iLok License Manager > Check for Application Updates
  3. Update if prompted.
If it's already up-to-date...
  1. Go to iLok License Manager > Preferences > Licenses and click Remove Account Data from Computer
  2. Right+click on your iLok and select Synchronize
Let us know if that still doesn't help.
Thanks! I had a few other little issues but all in all, I can open Pro Tools without creating a cloud session.

I can't however seem to get my perpetual license or Pro Tools plan license to appear in the cloud on my main machine or my laptop.

Any ideas there? Screen shots attached.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2018-02-01 at 3.23.23 PM.jpg (44.6 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2018-02-01 at 3.23.25 PM.jpg (28.5 KB, 0 views)
__________________
iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.13.3

http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/
http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-01-2018, 01:50 PM
Jperkins Jperkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 379
Default Re: iLok Cloud Questions

Actually, I think I get it. The Perpetual License isn't showing up in the cloud because it's on my physical iLok.

All in all the cloud thing doesn't seem very useful yet but I guess it's a start.
__________________
iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.13.3

http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/
http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-03-2018, 10:05 PM
valleysounds's Avatar
valleysounds valleysounds is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Nana Glen AUSTRALIA
Posts: 4
Default Re: iLok Cloud Questions

I believe you have to deactivate the protools licence from the physical ilok and that licence will then move to your "Available Folder".. from that location folder the cloud session will see the licence and put it into your cloud activations :)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools iLok cloud metalmixer Pro Tools 2018 40 02-22-2018 09:48 AM
Really loving ilok cloud Watagushu2013 Pro Tools 2018 18 02-02-2018 08:46 AM
Subscription data - ilok cloud kursattaydas Licensing & Accounts 6 01-30-2018 02:29 AM
iLok Cloud Drew Mazurek Pro Tools 12 26 01-24-2018 01:57 PM
I"m back again! (cloud questions) Terry Wetzel General Discussion 2 05-10-2017 01:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com